MATT HECKLER: North Carolina Bluegrass/Folk Soloist To Release Blood, Water, Coal Full-Length Via Anti-Corporate Music February 19th; Title Track Streaming + Preorders Posted

photos by Anthony Simpkins

Anti-Corporate Music presents Blood, Water, Coal, the second studio full-length from North Carolina-based MATT HECKLER. With the record now confirmed for release later this month, the title track is now streaming alongside preorders and more.

MATT HECKLER is a solo multi-instrumentalist that barely fits into any ordinary musical category. He tends to keep to the darker side of Appalachian mountain music and early bluegrass but listen long enough and you’ll soon be transported to the mountains of Eastern Europe or a dimly lit bar in Ireland where they honor those who have passed with a gently swaying a cappella ballad.

After touring almost nonstop for years in support of bands like Devil Makes Three, Lost Dog Street Band, Flogging Molly, and others, HECKLER, like the rest of us, got sidelined by the ongoing global pandemic. It was during this time that he released The Magnolia Sessions outdoor live set – the maiden release for the now popular series – which made it to #9 on the Bluegrass Billboard Charts. Throughout this time is also when he started working on his second studio album Blood, Water, Coal.

With his newfound time off, HECKLER set to pushing his creative boundaries as far as his mind would allow, each fiddle, banjo, and guitar track carefully put in place all the while retaining the grit and energy reflected in his live shows. Paired perfectly as the sequel to After The Flood, the highly anticipated Blood, Water, Coal album is a defining release in HECKLER‘s career.

Listen to the title track to MATT HECKLER’s Blood, Water, Coal now at THIS LOCATION.

Anti-Corporate Music will release Blood, Water, Coal on CD and digital February 19th, with a vinyl pressing to follow shortly afterward. All physical purchases of the album made directly through the label webshop will receive a bonus download track. Find preorders HERE.

Watch for new audio previews of the album and more to post shortly.

Blood, Water, Coal Track Listing:
1. Left For Dead
2. Blood, Water, Coal
3. St. Tomas
4. Jackalope Waltz
5. Roses & Whiskey
6. My Caroline
7. Katy Dear
8. Widow Mtn. Waltz
9. Forgive Me Mother