LOCRIAN: Blackened-Avant Industrialists Prepare Infinite Dissolution LP For July Release Via Relapse Records; Album Trailer + Preorders Posted

[photo by Jimmy Hubbard]

The latest full-length studio installation from experimental outfit, LOCRIAN, has been completed, as the longstanding trio prepares to release Infinite Dissolution through Relapse Records in late July. In addition to the expansive album’s release date, track listing, cover artwork and preorder links, a trailer containing samples of several of the record’s movements has also been issued to the public.

2015 marks ten years since the formation of Chicago/Baltimore-based LOCRIAN, who over the past decade has left a smoldering mass of well over twenty recordings in their wake, many of them self-released, many others through labels including Utech, Fan Death, Bloodlust!, Small Doses, At War With False Noise, and the group’s private label Land of Decay before signing with Relapse Records in 2012 for the release of their The Clearing/The Final Epoch 2xCD. The band’s experimental/avant approach unifies post-industrial and black metal persuasions in a crushing alloy of organic and mechanical elements, having earned them widespread media praise from countless underground and mainstream media outlets and journalist worldwide.

LOCRIAN now return with Infinite Dissolution, another dark and cinematic work of exceptional aural artistry. More epic and foreboding than anything in the prolific trio’s catalog, Infinite Dissolution was recorded at Steve Albini-owned/operated Electrical Audio, produced by Greg Norman (Pelican, Russian Circles), and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege, and is a multi-part concept album dealing with the struggle of human extinction. A seamless and harrowing blend of dark ambience, drone, black metal, post-rock, and experimental electronics, Infinite Dissolution is the perfect manifestation of modern, forward-thinking experimental music.

Having now been set for North American release on July 24th, 2015 on CD, LP and digital formats, preorders for Infinite Dissolution have been released — including colored vinyl, merch bundles and more — alongside a visual trailer including the record’s track listing and cover artwork, created from photos of a massive physical installation by sculptor David Altmejd.

View the trailer for LOCRIAN’s Infinite Dissolution RIGHT HERE and view physical preorder options HERE, and digitally via BandCamp HERE and iTunes HERE.

Infinite Dissolution Track Listing:
1. Arc of Extinction
2. Dark Shales
3. KXL I
4. The Future of Death
5. An Index of Air
i. Divinations
ii. Air Structures
iii. Watcher of the Clouds
7. The Great Dying
8. Heavy Water

Fans of Liturgy, Ulver, SUNN O))), Deafheaven, The Haxan Cloak, Wolves in the Throne Room, Godspeed! You Black Emperor, Horseback, Zombi and everything in between should watch for more audio samples from Infinite Dissolution to appear in the coming weeks. Additionally, regional live actions around the band’s Chicago homeland and on both US coasts and beyond will be scheduled and announced as the band celebrates a decade of auditory termination this year.

André Foisy – Guitars, Electronics, Piano
Terence Hannum – Vocals, Moog Little Phatty, Moog Minitaur, Moog Source, MicroKorg, Arp Avatar, EDP Wasp, Mellotron M400, Samples
Steven Hess – Drums, Percussion, Electronics