LATHE: Maryland Instrumental Americana Doom Trio To Release Tongue Of Silver Debut July 29th Via Grimoire Records/APT 66; “Vinegar” Now Streaming At The Obelisk + Preorders Available

Photo by Daniel Regner

Baltimore, Maryland-based instrumental Americana drone/doom LATHE will release their Tongue Of Silver full-length debut via Grimoire Records with APT 66 on July 29th, today unveiling the record’s track listing, cover art, and first single.

LATHE’s sound can be found somewhere between sand and rust, where sparkling leads and pedal steel are met with blistering riffs and a pummeling rhythm section. Tongue Of Silver is a collection of songs that began as a studio project in 2018. After countless revisions and setbacks, a pile of demos were brought to producer and Grimoire Records owner Noel Mueller for a proper studio assessment throughout 2021. Now, nearly four years since most of these songs were initially composed, they are finally completed and pressed to vinyl!

Across its eight engrossing tracks, Tongue Of Silver seamlessly blends elements of doom, country, punk, swing, and black metal into heavy wall-of-sound. A hearty array of instruments familiar to the spaghetti western landscape — organ, tambourine, and pedal steel to name a few — significantly alter the common tropes of stoner music. While each song has an independent story to tell, they are unified as a whole through driving bass lines and persistent percussion. This aesthetic comes to total fruition on “Rodeo Fumes,” as the d-beat track featuring field recordings of a monster truck rally climaxes into a full-on wave of distortion that drones into the dark oblivion of “351W.”

In advance of the release of Tongue Of Silver, LATHE unveils opening track “Vinegar,” now playing at The Obelisk.

Notes The Obelisk, “‘Vinegar,’ which is the opening track premiering below, begins the record with an immediate Americana wistfulness of pedal steel and electric guitar, the trio of Tyler Davis, Eric Paltell and Flynn Diguardia working to convey an emotional presence as well as to gather spaces for their tones to inhabit. Instrumental for the duration, the eight-song/36-minute offering is outwardly heavy at times in a way that some other acts of this ilk don’t dare to be, but the vibe is maintained…”

Stream LATHE’s “Vinegar” at THIS LOCATION.

Tongue Of Silver was recorded and mixed by Noel Mueller at Tiny Castle with additional engineering by the band’s own Tyler Davis and mastered by Dan Coutant at Sunroom Audio. The record’s cover photo was taken by Noah Scialom with artwork and additional layout by Andrew Haas.

Tongue Of Silver will be released on limited edition 12″ vinyl and digitally. Find preorders at THIS LOCATION. Fans of Earth, Sunn O))), David Lynch, Grails, Ennio Morricone, and the like, pay heed.

Tongue Of Silver Track Listing:
1. Vinegar
2. Drain
3. Heat Wave
4. Rodeo Fumes
5. 351W
6. Cauliflower
7. Journey To The East
8. Morris

Tongue Of Silver is the third vinyl release for LATHE. Their first, a 7” titled APT66 Split, was a distant collaboration with George Cessna after he moved away from Baltimore. LATHE’s second 7”, Cavalier, presented the band for the first time as a trio and was mixed by Matt Williams of Hell and Sub Odin Studios. As with those prior releases, Tongue Of Silver combines pieces of classic country twang with a roaring wall of amps; a fitting soundtrack to a demolition derby.

Tyler Davis – guitars, bass, organ
Eric Paltell – pedal steel, guitars
Flynn Diguardia – drums