KHOST: Birmingham-Based Industrial Metal Duo To Release Buried Steel Via Cold Spring In March; Music, Preorders, And More Issued

Birmingham, UK industrial metal duo KHOST returns with their crushing new album, Buried Steel. The record is confirmed for March release through their allies at Cold Spring Records, who this week posted the cover art, release info, preorders, and several audio/video samples.

KHOST is comprised of Andy Swan (Final, Iroha) and Damian B (Carthage, Techno Animal, Deathless). The follow-up to their 2017-released Governance album, Buried Steel delivers themes and sonics ranging from granite and impassive to dreamlike and somnambulistic. The sound keeps with the promise – and threat – of the title, dwelling on slow, infallible ruination: a gravitational downthrust upon misshapen monuments and structures which are mangled, overgrown and increasingly forgotten. A monochrome vastness where nature reclaims and redefines us as time passes.

The recording of the album was plagued with unexplained events including a studio fire which destroyed the masters of some songs. Several tracks on the album had to be pieced together from burnt fragments of tape and recovered segments of damaged hard drives. From this point, the dynamics of some of the songs were altered, shifting their eventual outcome, particularly the tone of ambient work on Buried Steel.

Guests on KHOST‘s Buried Steel include Stephen Mallinder (Cabaret Voltaire, Wrangler), Syan, Eugene Robinson (Oxbow), Manuel Liebeskind, Daniel Buess (16-17, MIR), and Stephen Ah Burroughs (Tunnels Of Ah, ex-Head Of David), and includes artwork contributions from Talitha Bell, Syan, and Craig Earp.

See a brief teaser HERE, and stream the tracks “We Will Win” and “Intravener” at Bandcamp HERE and Soundcloud HERE.

Cold Spring will release Buried Steel on Friday, March 13th. Preorders are now live at the label webshop HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

Watch for additional audio samples from the record and other news to follow in the bleak weeks ahead. KHOST will be performing at European festivals throughout the summer to be announced.

Since their 2013 inception, KHOST has toured with the likes of Godflesh and Conan, performed with Asphyx, Locrian, Okkultokrati, Vodun, Moss, Anaal Nathrakh, Aluk Todolo, Final/JK Flesh, and many others. The band has played as far abroad as Israel, and have collaborated with Eugene Robinson of Oxbow, Daniel Buess, and others, and has seen their works remixed by D&B artists Hostage and Necrobia, Kevin Laska (Transitional, Novatron), Tunnels Of Ah, Satori, and more.

Buried Steel Track Listing:
1. We Will Win
2. Blood Gutters 6x4x1
3. Intravener
4. Yellow Light
5. Last Furnace
6. Night Air
7. Judgement Is Infallible
8. Kent House
9. December Bureau
10. Vandals
11. Dog Unit
12. Two
13. A Non Temporal Crawlspace
14. Intravener In Dub (Mothboy Remix)