IONOPHORE: Oakland/London-Based Cinematic Ambient Trio To Release Fourth Album, Knells, In Early 2021; Teaser Posted

photo by Nathan A. Verrill

Oakland, California and London, UK-based cinematic ambient trio IONOPHORE – founded by members of Vastum, Hammers Of Misfortune, Terebellum, Qepe, Not Quite So, Betterthief, Souls and Cities, and more – has completed work on their fourth album, Knells, presenting their most captivating and immersive material to date.

IONOPHORE is the project of the Bay Area/London-based multi-instrumentalists Leila Abdul-Rauf (Vastum, Hammers Of Misfortune, Terebellum), Janek Hendrich (Qepe, Not Quite So, Betterthief), and Ryan Honaker (Souls And Cities, Betterthief). Formed in 2012, the trio continues to weave their trademark cinematic dark electronics and organic elements, melding the orchestral strings of Honaker with the horns and voice of Abdul-Rauf, embellished with the electronic flourishes of Hendrich.

Knells is the lush follow-up to 2018’s well-received Whetter, and takes the group into a more introspective, neoclassical sound. IONOPHORE‘s fourth full-length ponders a weightless feeling of late-night stillness and ambience, with brief interruptions of lethargic jazz and the distant urban landscapes.

See a brief teaser for IONOPHORE’s Knells RIGHT HERE.

Produced by the band, mastered by Myles Boisen at Headless Buddha, and completed with cover art and layout by Janek Hendrich, IONOPHORE will self-release Knells in February. Watch for the cover art, audio samples, multiple official videos, preorders, and more to be issued in early January.

Leila Abdul-Rauf – trumpet, vocals, lyrics, guitar, piano, synths, ebow
Janek Hendrich – piano, guitar, synths, ebow, electronics
Ryan Honaker – violin, guitar, piano, synths, electronics