HISSING: Washington Extreme Metal Group To Release Second LP, Hypervirulence Architecture, Through Profound Lore Records In July; “Meltdown” Single Streaming + Preorders Posted

photo by Marena Shear

Seattle, Washington-based extreme metal faction HISSING presents their second full-length album, Hypervirulence Architecture. The record is confirmed to be released in July through Profound Lore Records, who today issues the cover art, track listing, preorders, and lead single, “Meltdown.”

Embodied by bassist/vocalist Zach Wise, guitarist Joe O’Malley, and drummer Sam Pickel, HISSING was formed in 2014 out of a mutual interest in mutilating sounds and exploring the outer limits of black and death metal, resulting in savage displays of ominous and dissonant noise-drenched death. The group aims to desecrate expectations with each subsequent release, which has included multiple independent EPs and demos, a 7″ EP on Southern Lord, a split with Sutekh Hexen on The Flenser, and more. Their debut LP Permanent Destitution saw release through Profound Lore in 2018 to widespread positive reactions from media and fans alike.

The second HISSING LP now arrives in the form of Hypervirulence Architecture, an album which sees the trio take their sound into more nightmarish, trance-inducing, mercurial, and mind-altering sonic dominions. The album’s seven scathing movements were recorded and mixed by Detto and mastered by Dan Lowndes, the album adorned with cover and interior art by Sindre Foss Skancke and additional art by Ethan McCarthy.

Hear the first track to be unveiled from HISSING’s Hypervirulence Architecture, the album’s closing song “Meltdown,” now at THIS LOCATION.

Profound Lore Records will release Hypervirulence Architecture on LP, CD, cassette, and all digital platforms on July 15th. Preorders and merch options have been posted HERE.

Hypervirulence Architecture Track Listing:
1. Cells Of Nonbeing
2. Hostile Absurdity
3. Operant Extinction
4. Hypervirulence
5. Intrusion
6. Identical To Hunger
7. Meltdown

HISSING has booked a three-city run of record release shows in conjunction with the album’s release, with shows in Seattle, Portland, and Oakland July 14th through 16th, all joined by Human Effluence. See confirmed dates below and watch for more widespread tour dates to post in the weeks ahead.

HISSING Record Release Shows w/ Human Effluence:
7/14/2022 Substation – Seattle, WA
7/15/2022 High Water Mark – Portland, OR
7/16/2022 Elbo Room Jack London – Oakland, CA