GOLD: Optimist Full-Length From Dutch Rock Outfit To See US Release Via Ván Records; Full Stream Available


Following the artistic success of 2015’s No Image – which united journalists, musicians, music lovers, and even a pro-wrestler in its appraisal – Dutch rock outfit GOLD returns with its successor, Optimist. Together with producer Randall Dunn (Sunn O))), Earth, Ash Borer, Marissa Nadler), GOLD has put their angular drive, blackened guitar textures, and the composed yet vulnerable vocal delivery of Milena Eva in an even broader context. GOLD has created an almost unlimited space for their unique unity of beauty and cruelty to crush and confuse even more.

Within her lyrics Milena Eva lays bare her insecurities, internal struggles, and self-doubt as a means to reach out and connect; to ultimately inspire acceptance and love of the self, of the known and of the alien.

GOLD comments: “Our activism and socio-criticism is strongly rooted in self-reflection and improving our selves. We do not only intend to break down walls and bridge gaps between scenes and genres, but also – more importantly – between people. And if it’s necessary to call out those who want to stand between us, we artistically will. It’s no coincidence that the last shot of the last video we took from No Image shows an awkwardly confident Donald Trump.”

With their nonconformist outsider approach, which the New York Times strikingly defined as, “serenely intense… near-metal,” GOLD has managed to find a previously uninhabited spot that is truly their own. To achieve this in the heart of such a densely populated musical landscape, rather than at its outskirts, is the exciting result of intense years of performing and self-reflection. Optimist is an adventurous confirmation of GOLD‘s reputation as an enthralling band, on stage and on record.

GOLD’s Optimist is out now in Europe via Ván Records and streaming in full at THIS LOCATION.

The record will see US release on June 2nd through the label’s newly-secured US distribution. For physical orders, point your browser HERE.

Optimist Track Listing:

  1. You Too Must Die
  2. Summer Thunder
  3. White Noise
  4. Teenage Lust
  5. No Shadow
  6. I Do My Own Stunts
  7. Be Good
  8. Come With Me
  9. Tear

Milena Eva – vocals
Thomas Sciarone – guitar
Kamiel Top – guitar
Jaka Bolic – guitar
Tim Meijer – bass
Igor Wouters – drums

GOLD‘s nonconformist outsider approach has truly allowed them to find their niche and Optimist is the excellent result of intense years of performing and self-reflection.” – Cvlt Nation

GOLD is redefining ‘mood music’…” – Invisible Oranges

Optimist worms its way into the ear, leaving listeners addicted to these intensely gothic tunes, which are destined to be blasted on repeat.” – Far Beyond Written