FUTURE USSES: MetalSucks Premieres “What Is Anything” From Ambient Sludge Rock Trio Featuring Members Of Intronaut + Bereft; Debut To See Release in September Via Pelagic Records

Photo by Samantha Meglioli

The track will make listeners feel as though they’re floating one moment and shackled to a rock the next” — MetalSucks

Los Angeles-based FUTURE USSES — featuring members of Intronaut and Bereft — will unleash their The Existential Haunting debut via Pelagic Records on September 14th.

An astounding instrumental record of devastatingly heavy, oppressively slow, yet shimmering and lush sludge-paced rock, run through a filter of nightmarish psychedelia, it’s hard to believe that The Existential Haunting is really a debut album. The trio’s sound comes across too shrewd, too canny, and too sophisticated. But while FUTURE USSES has really only played a handful of shows in their short career, main songwriter Sacha Dunable has been a member of Intronaut for almost fifteen years and dabbled with various doom metal projects over the years, like Bereft. FUTURE USSES takes small elements of what those bands do and magnifies them, combining the crushing, slow-motion power of doom with the atmosphere and dense harmonic tendencies of Intronaut.

Drums and guitar on The Existential Haunting were produced at Clearlake Audio with Josh Newell (Intronaut, Cynic) and Derek Donley (Intronaut, Bereft), and bass with Jon Nunez (Torche). Mixing was done by Converge’s Kurt Ballou at GodCity Studio.

“This album is the end result of almost five years of rewriting, rerecording, and reconceptualizing what these songs were and what this band was going to be,” issues Dunable. “With the help of my bandmates and everyone involved in the production of this album, we made something truly unique and special. Totally worth the wait, and we can’t wait to finally bring it to you in person.”

In advance of the release of The Existential Haunting, MetalSucks is pleased to unveil “What Is Anything” for communal feasting. Notes MetalSucks of the track, “The track will make listeners feel as though they’re floating one moment and shackled to a rock the next. Think Explosions In The Sky, Russian Circles, and This Will Destroy You and you’ll have some idea of what to expect from FUTURE USSES.”

Hear “What Is Anything,” courtesy of MetalSucks, at THIS LOCATION.

The Existential Haunting will see release on CD, LP, and digital formats. For preorder in North America go to THIS LOCATION, in Europe go HERE, in Australia go HERE, and for digital orders go HERE.

The Existential Haunting Track Listing:
1. What Is Anything
2. Absolute Zero
3. Make Flowers
4. Heavenly Superperson
5. Apocalypse When Convenient
6. The Existential Haunting

Sacha Dunable – guitar
Derek Donley – drums
Dan Wilburn – bass