FALSE FIGURE: Oakland Death Rock Outfit To Release Castigations Full-Length Via Transylvanian Recordings November 1st; New Track Streaming + Preorders Available

Photo by by Hera Burgess

Oakland, California-based death rock outfit FALSE FIGURE will release their Castigations full-length via Transylvanian Recordings on November 1st.

FALSE FIGURE was forged in 2015. In their earliest days, they drew influence from classic California death rock groups like Christian Death and Change Today?-era T.S.O.L. and even early black metal. They conjured something melodic yet driving with guitars howling through noisy delay and reverb but still steeped in tangible melody. “We wanted melodies that would stick in your head with beats that would move you,” recalls guitarist/vocalist Andrés Ruiz. “In the past few years, we’ve shifted towards a more pointed, airy, and rhythm-driven song structure where each element has its space to breathe. This style is something that was touched on in our last EP, A Promised End, but really gets to shine on Castigations. We aim to keep things flowing and concise. ‘All killer no filler’ as they say.”


With FALSE FIGURE’s Castigations, an all-embracing presence of melancholy remains, but not in a way that would bog down listeners. “We aimed to present the music in a manic yet purposeful arrangement, mirroring our own lives and experiences, a controlled chaos. As a three-piece attempting a big sound, you have to be mindful of what you aren’t playing (overplaying) as much as what you desire to play. The lyrics of this release come from our experiences at the time of writing, from failed relationships, to losing loved ones, to feeling the figurative noose tightening around one’s neck as we struggle to negotiate to live in the capitalist hellscape that has become the San Francisco Bay area where the margins are bursting at the seams.

First single, “Possession,” was written about a jealous lover who is never satisfied short of pure domination; internalizing contempt about the situation but ultimately remaining hopeless as their hold on you seems ethereal or supernatural.

Writes Cvlt Nation with their recent premiere of the track, “Relying far more on melody than their previous output, their way forward sees hummable hooks that get stuck in your head and appeal to a wider audience while never abandoning their roots as a thoroughly carrion-soaked specter forcing its way through the marine layer at the stroke of midnight. Simple, catchy riffs float over the ever-present bass distortion with a vocal delivery that exceeds most modern post-punk lilting ranges by several degrees of magnitude.”

Watch FALSE FIGURE’s video for “Possession” at THIS LOCATION.

Castigations was recorded and mixed by Grammy-winning producer Greg Wilkinson. mastered by Grammy-winning audio engineer Chris Dugan, and comes adorned in the cover art of Ruiz.

Castigations will be released on CD, LP, cassette, and digitally. Find preorders at THIS LOCATION.

Castigations Track Listing:
1. Plexus
2. Samsara
3. Sadist Lament
4. Death Pact
5. Asunder
6. Possession
7. Bare
8. Faim
9.The Absence
10. Tyrant Heart

FALSE FIGURE Castigations lineup:
Andrés Ruiz – guitar, vocals
Alex Rivas – bass
Ian McDonnell – drums