DRIVING SLOW MOTION: Texas Experimental Post-Rock Collective To Release Arda Full-Length This June; New Track Streaming + Preorders Available

Stream / Share DRIVING SLOW MOTION’s “The Way The World Was” At THIS LOCATION

Fort Worth, Texas-based experimental post-rock collective DRIVING SLOW MOTION will release their debut full-length, Arda, on June 7th.

Recorded and produced by the band, mixed by Mike Watts (The Dillinger Escape Plan, Glassjaw, Hopesfall) at VuDu Studios, and mastered by Troy Glessner (Devin Townsend, August Burns Red) at Spectre Mastering, Arda – the name given to the Earth in an imaginary period of prehistory in J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Lord Of The Rings legendarium – is an otherworldly and consuming audio exhibition. Over the course of ten tracks and forty-two minutes, the record seamlessly blankets its listeners with chest-quaking builds, cascading dynamics, and atmospheric melodies, delivering a surreal sonic escape that’s at oncephysically and psychologically entrancing.

As a precursor to Arda‘s official release, DRIVING SLOW MOTION is currently streaming the towering “The Way The World Was.” Notes drummer Dustin Weaver of the track, “‘The Way The World Was’ is an interesting song for this band as it came together purely by accident. The original idea was to create a simple interlude for our live set, but it spontaneously turned into the first full song written for Arda. At the time, writing for a new album wasn’t even really on our radar as we had just released our self-titled EP. However, writing ‘The Way The World Was’ really set the tone for the entire album; a dynamic blend of softer ambient parts paired with a massive, driving wall of sound.”

Stream “The Way The World Was” below.

Arda will be released via the band’s own Fail Safe Audio Recordings on June 7th on CD, limited LP, and digitally. For preorders visit the DRIVING SLOW MOTION Bandcamp page at THIS LOCATION.

Arda Track Listing:
1. Far From Home
2. The Way The World Was
3. In Exchange For A Memory
4. Windows In A Stone Wall
5. Of The Sea
6. Laurelin
7. All I See Are Stars
8. Shadow & Flame (The Deep Pt. 1)
9. Hallowed Hills
10. The Dawn Voyage

DRIVING SLOW MOTION will bring their soundscapes to the stage for three special performances including an appearance at this year’s Noise Under The Sky Festival and a special record release show in June. Additional live dates will be announced in the weeks to come.

5/04/2019 Noise Under The Sky Festival 2019 @ The Waterhole Saloon – Del Valle, TX
6/07/2019 M.A.S.S – Ft. Worth, TX * CD Release Show
6/29/2019 Post-Fest Pop-Up @ Dan’s Silverleaf – Denton, TX

Drawing influence from the diverse backgrounds of each member — which includes a geologist, a coffee-roaster, and an ex-founding member of extreme metal band Seeker [Victory Records] — DRIVING SLOW MOTION has quickly garnered nationwide attention with their unique take on instrumental music.

“Although DRIVING SLOW MOTION only began writing music together less than two years ago, this project has been more than a decade in the making,” says Weaver of the band’s beginnings. “The five of us [Weaver is joined by bassist Carter Stark and guitarists Nick Valdez, Jason Reed, and Bryan Freymuth] have known each other for years and have always had a mutual desire to create something we believe to be truly unique and exciting; DRIVING SLOW MOTION is the culmination of that yearning.”

Arda was written around the concept of a journey,” he continues, “which we inadvertently found to be a direct correlation of our own lives. For us, the last decade has been a journey individually to get to this point, but the experiences of that journey is what ultimately shaped and molded us into what you hear today.”

Dustin Weaver – drums
Carter Stark – bass
Nick Valdez – guitar
Jason Reed – guitar
Bryan Freymuth – guitar