DREAD SOVEREIGN: Ván Records Unveils Details for Debut LP

Dublin based true doom trio, DREAD SOVEREIGN, has unveiled details of their upcoming debut full-length album. Subsequent to last year’s critically acclaimed Pray To The Devil In Man 12″, the band headed to the studio last Autumn to work on the follow-up release. The resulting ten track beast of a record, entitled All Hell’s Martyrs, will be released by Ván Records in March 2014.

Vocalist and bass player, Nemtheanga commented: “Things come together fast on the surface but the DREAD SOVEREIGN album has been dwelling in my subconscious for years, playing riffs to myself over the years. It’s only in the last fifteen months that I’ve put flesh on the bones with a proper band and here we are with an album ready for Ván Records to release. The aspirations are difficult to explain as it’s been a form of catharsis to finally get the demons out after all this time but here it is; some gnarled and evil old school doom/metal — a few surprises and different elements here and there — but nothing more and nothing less.”

Recorded and mixed at Dublin’s Sun Studios in September 2013, All Hell’s Martyrs is a sepulchral trawl through the darkest recesses of heavy metal. The album artwork was created by Costin Chioreanu whose previous credits include Grave, Darkthrone, Aura Noir and Absu.

Today, Roadburn.com has hosted a premiere of the first single from All Hell’s Martyrs, with the track “Cthulu Opiate Haze,” now playing RIGHT HERE.

Also check out a visual trailer for All Hell’s Martyrs HERE, and place preorders for the CD and LP versions of the album HERE.

DREAD SOVEREIGN is Nemtheanga (vocals & bass), Dubh Sol (drums) and Bones (guitar); a triumvirate of old-school attitude and arcane spirituality. Although retaining the rugged, epic drama of Primordial (in which Nemtheanga and Dubh Sol both perform), DREAD SOVEREIGN is distinctly different, blending influences of Venom, Saint Vitus and Cirith Ungol in the raw underground cult doom idiom.

2/28/2014 Hell Over Hammaburg Warm Up Night – Hamburg, Germany
5/01/04-2014 Heavy Days In Doom Town – Copenhagen, Denmark

All Hell’s Martyrs Track Listing:
1. Drink The Wine
2. Thirteen Clergy
3. Cthulu Opiate Haze
4. The Devil’s Venom
5. Pray To The Devil In Man
6. Scourging Iron
7. The Great Beast
8. We Wield The Spear Of Longinus
9. Cathars To Their Doom
10. All Hell’s Martyrs, Transmissions From The Devil Star