DIVINITY Confirm First Dates In Support Of New Album; The Singularity In Stores August 10

Preparing for the August 10 release date of their latest album, The Singularity, Canada’s DIVINITY today announce their first live performances to support the album, their first via Candlelight Records. The shows are scheduled throughout Canada building up to and continuing after the release date, with full touring planned for October.

Guitarist Sacha Laskow comments, “We are stoked to cross this great, giant country once again to promote the new album release and be a part of some sick shows with some of the best metal bands in the world. We are also so glad to finally have our new album out and available everywhere, so make sure and pick it up August 10th. We spent a year locked in the studio perfecting the album and are extremely proud with the results. It’s a snapshot of where we are in time with all the influences the different songwriters bring to the table coming together under one theme.”

About.com calls Canadian modern metal juggernaut DIVINITY “a band to keep an eye (and ear) on.” Following their debut album, Allegory (2008, Nuclear Blast), the Alberta-based five-piece have crafted another polished album of melodic death/thrash that is sure to further their already growing fanbase. “The more I listen to The Singularity, the better it gets,” says MetalSucks on an early review of the album. “It’s complex, it’s progressive, it’s deep, it’s brutal, it’s shreddy, it’s hooky, it’s artsy… it’s everything you want a metal record to be.”

Armed with an arsenal of growls, high-pitched screams, and melodic clean vocals, The Singularity successfully works through an amalgamation of crushing thrash, complex progressive metal arrangements and brutal death metal overtones. It should easily qualify as one of the year’s more memorable aural assaults. The poise of each song’s shifting time signatures and their unpredictable rhythmic insanities alone are devastating. Lyrically tackling the themes of mindless consumerism, survival in the midst of adversity, the chaos of existence, and humanity’s battle against technology, DIVINITY deliver a rock-solid audio palette. Songs “Monsters Are Real,” “Emergent,” “Beg to Consume,” and “Lay In The Bed You’ve Made” unquestionably exhibit the band’s dynamic and ferocious range.

DIVINITY, featuring vocalist Sean Jenkins, guitarists James Duncan and Sacha Laskow, drummer Brett Duncan and bassist Nick Foster, have performed alongside Cannibal Corpse, Overkill, Into Eternity and others. They were a participant on 2008’s Canadian Summer Slaughter Tour.

The Singularity Track Listing:
1. Abiogenesis
2. Beg to Consume
3. Lay in the Bed You’ve Made
4. Emergent
5. Transformation
6. Monsters Are Real
7. Embrace the Uncertain
8. Formless Dimension
9. Approaching the Singularity

DIVINITY live appearances:
8/06/2010 Starlite Room – Edmonton, AB
8/07/2010 Legion Hall – Calgary, AB
8/25/2010 Noctis Valkyries Metal Fest – Calgary AB w/ The Devil’s Blood, Sodom, Ex-Deo, etc.
8/30/2010 Le Bunker – Chicoutimi, QC w/ Beneath the Massacre
10/01/2010 Bar le Trash – St-Hyacinthe, QC w/ Beneath the Massacre
10/02/2010 L’Evasion – Victoriaville, QC w/ Beneath the Massacre
10/08/2010 FouFounes – Montreal, QC w/ Beneath the Massacre
10/01/2010 Trois Rivieres Metalfest – Trois-Rivieres QC w/ Despised Icon, Misery Index

Stay tuned for more DIVINITY tour updates in the coming months. Interviews with the band and promos of The Singularity are available now via Earsplit.