DEVIL WITH NO NAME: Cvlt Nation Premieres “Grand Western Apostasy” From Band With Members Of Lord Mantis, Void Omnia, And Sovereign; Debut To See Release Via New Density

[photo by Andrew Markuszewski]

Newly formed Western US black metal trio DEVIL WITH NO NAME – founded by members of Lord Mantis, Void Omnia, Sovereign, and others – will release their eponymous debut via New Density in May. The album’s scathing but groove-laden lead single, “Grand Western Apostasy,” has been issued through a premiere hosted by Cvlt Nation.

Comprised of Andrew Markuszewski (Lord Mantis, Avichi, Sonoran Rebel Black Magick) on guitars and vocals, Michał Juśko (Sovereign) on bass and vocals and Cody Stein (Void Omnia) on drums, DEVIL WITH NO NAME began when Markuszewski left Chicago for the deserts of Arizona a few years back and connected with Juśko. The pair began writing blistering black metal influenced by the lifestyle and culture of the Southwest.

The band’s eponymous maiden release Devil With No Name was mixed and mastered by Ken Sorceron (Abigail Williams, Lord Mantis) and features artwork by Rodrigo Pereira Salvatierra.

“‘Grand Western Apostasy’ is the first song Michal and I wrote together when we started this band and sets the tone to what we’re all about,” offers Markuszewski. “Black metal horse breath. DEVIL WITH NO NAME is exactly that – the devil of the badlands and the desert, forsaken, scapegoated in every culture, rarely seen nemesis that makes his way into folklore or becomes the apostle from hell in people’s lives. Kind of what we all are.”

Cvlt Nation writes, “Their music is filled with intense sonic drama that acts as a backdrop for the chaos you’ll experience while listening to them.”

Stream DEVIL WITH NO NAME’s “Grand Western Apostasy” at Cvlt Nation RIGHT HERE.

Devil With No Name will be released on May 22nd on all digital platforms and a limited pressing on 180-gram black vinyl LP in a gatefold sleeve. Find preorders at Bandcamp HERE and the New Density label webshop HERE.

Watch for additional audio premieres and more to post in the weeks ahead.

Devil With No Name Track Listing:
1. Grand Western Apostasy
2. Alleluia
3. Sycophants of the Covenant
4. Monad

Inspired by the surrounding vast harsh landscapes, DEVIL WITH NO NAME is proof that black metal is no longer a genre requiring blistering snow and white mountain tops. Combining the attitudes of a cut-throat Western past and those of the great beast of rebellion, DEVIL WITH NO NAME is the pariah that stands apart from hordes with names, the fallen angel once buried in chains beneath the sun, now left to wander with pistol revolver in hand.

As a huge fan of old Westerns, and particularly the works of Sergio Leone, who is credited with the creation of the Spaghetti Western genre, Markuszewski was largely inspired by Leone’s Dollars Trilogy featuring Clint Eastwood as the iconic character known as “The Man With No Name.” Drawing upon that influence and paying homage to the rebellious nature of the black metal they were writing, Markuszewski took heed and decided to call the group DEVIL WITH NO NAME. After recruiting drummer Cody Stein, they would work on and self-produce an EP which became a huge trial by fire. In the end, they came out with an epic result on this debut release.

“The desert has a charm and majesty all its own,” says guitarist/vocalist Andrew Markuszewski. “It can be harsh and exhausting, much like that of Scandinavia and its long winters. When embraced, both can have a similar influence in extreme music, as black metal or whatever forms the music may take on.”

Andrew Markuszewski – guitars, vocals
MichaÅ‚ JuÅ›ko – bass, vocals
Cody Stein – drums