DEN: Chicago Noise/Doom Metal Trio To Release Iron Desert Via Corpse Flower Records; “Taste For Blood” Streaming + Preorders Available

Chicago noise/doom metal miscreants DEN will release the demoralizing sounds of their Iron Desert full-length next month via Corpse Flower Records.

The seven scathing tracks of rhythm and gloom contained within were captured at Wall To Wall Studios and the Harris Family Barn, engineered and mixed by DEN bassist Dylan Piskula, mastered by Erik Rasmussen, and features art and layout by drummer Ian Piirtola. In advance of its release, today the band is pleased to unveil first single, “Taste For Blood,” for public devouring.

Issues the band, “A meth addled modern pirate’s fix can only be quelled with two things: amphetamines and slit throats. DEN is here to provide the soundtrack for this kind of scumbag: a high-on-the-hog-dick-swinging boogie assault that will cinematically punctuate the moment the spike hits the vein and the victim is scalped. ‘Taste For Blood’ acts as a culmination of what is in store on Iron Desert. There is no hope, no winner, nothing to show for in the future. Leave nothing in the wake, just ride into the horizon.”

Stream DEN’s “Taste For Blood” at THIS LOCATION.

Iron Desert will be released November 22nd on limited edition vinyl (available on splatter or cloudy blue) and digital formats. For preorders, visit the Corpse Flower Bandcamp page at THIS LOCATION.

Iron Desert Track Listing:
1. Pyrite
2. Entire Mire
3. Svalbard
4. Taste For Blood
5. Graves Below The Tide
6. Bones & Flies
7. Iron Desert

DEN was forged in 2010 by three low-frequency worshipping cavemen: Ian Piirtola, Ray Keenan, and Adam Harris. Never confined to a singular sound, DEN operates somewhere between noise rock and metal with occasional progressive elements and electronic fuckery, often being compared to the likes of Melvins, Lightning Bolt, and Man Is The Bastard.

Described as “waves of sonic aggression in the form of space age electronic sounds doing battle with ferocious noise rock bass and drums,” the band’s first recorded output, Bronze Fog, arrived in 2011. The following year, DEN released Electric Eyes, a three-song seven inch that moved from psyche-sludge to krautrock to droning doom. Wrote of the release, “There’s a blurry image of an enraged caveman bashing a robot’s tin cranium on the front of this DEN single, and it’s not just a pleasant image – it’s DEN‘s musical aesthetic.”

2013 marked a new era for DEN as Keenan relocated to Austin. After a brief stint with Corey Mahaney playing bass, Dylan Piskula entered the fold to hold down the duties of the boom broom and DEN found its legs again. Blossom Juice, a mostly improvised outing of harsh scrape and space grime was released the following year. The band’s first proper full-length, Exhausted, was released shortly thereafter on BLVD Records. DEN has since played countless shows and regional tours, sharing stages with Buildings, Bummer, Gay Witch Abortion, Multicult, Oozing Wound, The Obsessed, Dead Meadow, and so many others, all the while writing what eventually has become the second long-player, Iron Desert, the first recordings with Piskula and the heaviest yet most distilled slab of DEN to date.

Adam Harris – vocals
Ian Piirtola – drums
Dylan Piskula – bass