DEATHCHANT: Los Angeles-Based Proto Metal Collective To Release Self-Titled Debut This January Via King Volume Records; New Track Streaming At The Obelisk + Preorders Available

“…volatile, exciting and unpredictable…” — The Obelisk

Los Angeles-based psychedelic heavy proto-metal collective DEATHCHANT will release their self-titled debut this January via King Volume Records. Captured live over a two-day period at a secluded cabin in Big Bear, California, the seven-track recording manifests an immersive wall of noise-induced heavy metal mania that is equal parts paranoia and transcendental harmony.

In advance of its release, The Obelisk is streaming first single, “Hex,” noting of the release overall, “DEATHCHANT offer a feedback-drenched take on darker heavy rock, so that even the strut of opener ‘Pessimist’ can just absolutely collapse into biting noise at a moment’s notice – which it does – and then resume its course like nothing happened. There are ‘hey wait!’ moments like that all over the album, and to add to that, [founder TJ] Lemiuex’s vocals are coated in reverb… in such a way that in context of some of the severity surrounding feels like a tip of the hat to Windhand that immediately gives the songs a distinguishing element. There’s no shortage of groove to go around in ‘Pessimist’ or elsewhere, and as the album unfolds with ‘Control’ and ‘Ritual’ – which as I understand it was going to be the title-track at one point – there is a linear character to the transitions that the noise-factor only helps further.”

Read more and hear “Hex,” courtesy of The Obelisk, at THIS LOCATION.

Deathchant will be released on January 10th digitally and on vinyl via King Volume Records with Dune Altar handling the cassette edition. For preorders, visit the King Volume Badcamp page at THIS LOCATION.

Deathchant Track Listing:
1. Pessimist
2. Control
3. Ritual
4. Eulogy
5. Breathe
6. Hex
7. Trigger

California residents can catch DEATHCHANT live next month. Additional shows to be announced in the coming weeks.

DEATHCHANT w/ Banquet:
1/24/2019 Bottom Of The Hill – San Francisco, CA
1/25/2019 Blue Lagoon – Sacramento, CA
1/26/2019 TBA – Los Angeles, CA

DEATHCHANT is the brainchild of TJ Lemieux (Child, Psychedelic Speed Freaks, Mainline Ladies, Babylon) with John Bolino, Colin Fahrner, and George Camacho. They’ve been dubbed psychedelic rock, proto-metal, doom, stoner metal, noise-punk, hard rock, and everything in between, but if you ask them, DEATHCHANT is just, “rock and roll with psychedelic influences.” Fluctuating between peaceful, meditative, eastern-tinged messages of unity and all out warcrys with an underlying lesson of love and peace-through-violence, the band is driven by Lemieux’s brooding aesthetic and signature psychedelic guitar atmospherics. DEATHCHANT echoes through the darker side of proto-metal and hard rock creating a sound that is loud, massive, and about as melodic as a sonic assault of this magnitude can be. They resonate with wherever or whoever you are and deliver an excitingly raw and catchy brand of unforgetting rock and roll. The band’s debut was written by Lemieux, mixed by Lemieux and Stephen Schroeder and engineered and mastered by Schroeder.