CHROME WAVES To Release A Grief Observed LP Through Disorder Recordings In March; New Trailer, First Single, And Slowdive Cover Playing

[photo by Melissa Atwood]

Midwestern post/alt-metal outfit CHROME WAVES – uniting former members of Wolvhammer, Nachtmystium, Abigail Williams, The Gates Of Slumber, Amiensus, and more – makes its return with a new lineup and their debut album, A Grief Observed, currently in its final stages for release in early 2019. Well in advance of the album’s release, the band has issued several teasers of what is to come, including a new trailer, the first single “Burdened,” and a non-album cover of Slowdive’s “When The Sun Hits.”

Founding member Jeff Wilson offers, “CHROME WAVES is a band that has always been in the back of my mind and something I knew would take priority when the time was right. With circumstances in 2018 being as they are, I’m now free to focus all the energy I was spending on other projects on the one that’s been the most personal to me all along. I would put this new material up there with the best that I’ve been involved with over the last ten or twelve years or so, and with this new revamped lineup, I’m very excited to see what 2019 holds for us.”

Now in its final stages, A Grief Observed is engineered by Niko Albanese and the band’s James Benson and Jeff Wilson, with artwork by Wilson. The album will be released on Wilson’s own Disorder Recordings label on LP, CD, and digital formats on March 1st, 2019.

Immerse yourself in CHROME WAVES’ “Burdened” single, a brief trailer for A Grief Observed, and the non-LP cover of Slowdive’s “When The Sun Hits,” all streaming below.

With widespread touring expected in support of the LP throughout the year, the band’s out-of-print debut EP will see its first CD pressing in 2019 as well. Watch for additional album singles, artwork, preorder links, videos, and more on the record to be issued in January.

CHROME WAVES was formed in the summer of 2010 by Jeff Wilson (ex-Nachtmystium, ex-Wolvhammer, ex-Abigail Williams) with Bob Fouts (The Gates Of Slumber), after which Stavros Giannopoulos (The Atlas Moth) was brought into the mix in early 2011. Merging their alternative, gothic, and post-metal influences into a dark and emotive alloy, the band self-produced their self-titled debut EP in July 2012. The vinyl quickly sold out in preorder and received critical acclaim and mentions outside the typical metal media, appearing in outlets like SPIN, Billboard, and others. They headlined a tour of the Midwest and East Coast US in August of that year, performing alongside Skeletonwitch, Morne, The Gates of Slumber, and others.

Following the EP, CHROME WAVES began writing their debut album in 2014, however the members’ other projects kept the band from becoming the full-time priority project as planned. While the band remained mostly silent behind the scenes, Foreign Sounds reissued the debut EP on cassette in May 2015, and then reissued it on vinyl in September 2016. Working slowly on the album, they began tracking drums in the winter of 2016, with guitars, bass, and synth tracking initiated in the fall of 2017.

After departing Wolvhammer and Abigail Williams in 2018, Jeff Wilson set out to finally make CHROME WAVES a full-time endeavor and brought in new guitarist/vocalist James Benson (Amiensus) alongside the returning Bob Fouts on drums. With a renewed sense of inspiration, the revamped lineup began recording immediately, with their sights set on completing their long-awaited debut full-length, A Grief Observed. In October, the trio issued the first new CHROME WAVES track in six years with “Burdened,” the first single from the impending LP. Several weeks later, the outfit released a non-album cover of Slowdive’s “When The Sun Hits” while continuing to wrap-up production on A Grief Observed.

James Benson – vocals, guitars
Bob Fouts – drums
Jeff Wilson – guitars, bass, synth, vocals