CHROME WAVES: Recursive Remix Album With Sanford Parker, Statiqbloom, Deeper Graves, Lotus Thrones, Wrathchild, Gridfailure Playing At New Noise Magazine; Album Out Friday On Disorder Recordings

New Noise Magazine is hosting the exclusive public stream of Recursive, from Midwestern post-black metal outfit CHROME WAVES – a re-envisioned version of their recently released The Rain Will Cleanse LP, featuring remixes from Sanford Parker, Statiqbloom, Deeper Graves, Lotus Thrones, Gridfailure, and Wrathchild.

CHROME WAVES’ third album The Rain Will Cleanse was released in September as a joint effort through Transcending Records and Disorder Recordings. Further exploring the realms of shoegaze, alternative, and non-metal influences while retaining elements of their brooding post-black metal, the album was recorded at Disorder Recordings by guitarist Jeff Wilson and at Postal Recording by Tyler Watkins who also handled mixing and mastering.

Just as The Rain Will Cleanse expanded the band’s sound, CHROME WAVES now grows the boundaries of the record with Recursive, a full remix version of the album. All elements of the album’s six original tracks were outsourced to an array of the band’s allies and remixed/reinterpreted in the same order. Opening track “When Night Falls” is here remixed by ex-Wolvhammer drummer Heath Rave’s solo entity Lotus Thrones. “Sometimes” is remixed by Demiricous and ex-CHROME WAVES drummer Dustin Boltjes’ solo project Wrathchild. “Tired” is remixed by renowned producer/composer, solo artist, member of Corrections House, Mirrors For Psychic Warfare, Twilight, and more, Sanford Parker. “A Future” is re-envisioned by ex-Heidnik/ex-Theologian member David Brenner’s audiovisual project Gridfailure. “Wind Blown” is reworked from inside by CHROME WAVES’ own Jeff Wilson and his post-punk solo venture Deeper Graves. The album closer “Aspiring Death” is delivered through a remix by former Batillus, Inswarm, Theologian, Tombs multi-instrumentalist Fade Kainer and his Statiqbloom.

Writes Jeff Wilson on the vision of the project, “In a time when music is consistently less important than business, we wanted to take things back a bit to the 1990s, when your band’s songs were more important than your Spotify plays. Artistry was more important than content creation. Songwriting was above social media follows. Every artist on this album has played an important part in the history of this band, whether it be a collaborator, an influence, a bandmate, or a combination of the above. This is a compilation of our influences more than an auxiliary release. These are people pertinent to our evolution and our existence. These are people more important than the ‘“metal media.’ The people make it happen.”

Stream CHROME WAVES’ entire Recursive remix album at New Noise Magazine RIGHT HERE.

Recursive will see release tomorrow, Friday, April 1st, through Wilson’s own Disorder Recordings in a limited run of CDs and digitally. Find preorders at Bandcamp HERE.

Recursive Track Listing:
1. When Night Falls – Lotus Thrones Mix
2. Sometimes – Wrathchild Mix
3. Tired – Sanford Parker Mix
4. A Future – Gridfailure Mix
5. Wind Blown – Deeper Graves Mix
6. Aspiring Death – Statiqbloom Mix

CHROME WAVES is currently creating their fourth LP, and its members’ other projects Deeper Graves, Contrition, Amiensus, and more all remain active with new material in the works. Watch for updates on all to post throughout the year.