CHILD BITE: Decibel Premieres Tracks From Burnt Offerings: Covers And Rarities 2010 – 2017 2xCD Compilation; Record Nears Release Via Housecore

Photo by Ruby Scholling

“…crucial for collectors and noise rock diehards…” — Decibel

Burnt Offerings: Covers And Rarities 2010 – 2017, the forthcoming 2xCD compilation from Detroit noise rockers CHILD BITE will drop next month via Housecore Records. In advance of its release, today Decibel Magazine offers up three more tracks — “Throb Forever,” as well as the band’s covers of Unsane’s “Don’t” and Minor Threat’s “Guilty Of Being White/It Follows” — for public feasting.

Comments frontman Shawn Knight, “‘Throb’ is probably our favorites. We played it every night on one of our tours back then, maybe the Voivod tour. It’s about a self-destructive person near the end of their life: bridges burned, alone, miserable, and full of regret. The final line of the song is a bit about how the insects eating your buried remains makes your body quiver in a way similar to withdrawals… I don’t know if anybody would read into it that deep though. It’s also a nod to one of my favorite Carcass lyrics; ‘Even in the afterlife, there’s work to do.'”

Adds Decibel: “Burnt Offerings… is crucial for collectors and noise rock diehards, but casual listeners will find plenty to enjoy about the 2xCD release as well.”

Hear the latest trio of CHILD BITE rarities, courtesy of Decibel, at THIS LOCATION.

If you missed it, check out CHILD BITE’s renditions of Celtic Frost’s “The Usurper” and Anal Cunt’s “Chump Change,” as well as original tune, “Stroke The Negative,” still streaming at Revolver at THIS LOCATION.

Burnt Offerings: Covers And Rarities 2010 – 2017 is a collection of CHILD BITE rarities culled from the last seven years of audio bedlam. The monster offering delivers twenty-eight tracks including several unreleased tunes as well as six cover songs featuring Philip H. Anselmo. The 2xCD set will be available on Housecore Records May 11th as a 2xCD digipak with a fold-out poster. Preorders are available via the Housecore Store HERE.

Burnt Offerings: Covers And Rarities 2010 – 2017 serves as a mass grave for all of our musical orphans…,” elaborates Knight. “The first six tracks [from disc 1] are from vinyl-only split EPs we’ve put out. These songs were written and recorded as pairs, and are some of our best tunes, not to mention some of the best sounding recordings we’ve ever had. Tracks seven through ten were meant for what became Negative Noise, but soon after we recorded these demos we got a new drummer and started moving in a different direction. Tracks eleven through thirteen were recorded at Anselmo’s place on our way south for a big tour with Voivod and King Parrot. A couple members felt that the songs weren’t ready for prime time so we held off from using them until now.”

Burnt Offerings: Covers And Rarities 2010 – 2017 Track Listing:
Disc 1:

1. The Will To Disappear
2. Stag Thrall
3. Gang Omega
4. Sick & Subhuman
5. Prowl
6. Modern Torment
7. Abstract Interior Putrefaction
8. Feeding Tube Blues
9. Stroke the Negative
10. Carrion Tabernacle
11. Throb Forever
12. Corrosive Devotion
13. As I Approach The Void
14. Jerk Off Your Life

Disc 2 (covers):
1. My War (Black Flag)
2. Police Truck (Dead Kennedys)
3. Earth A.D. / We Bite (Misfits)
4. I Against I / Jam (Bad Brains)
5. Guilty of Being White / It Follows (Minor Threat)
6. Hey! (Suicide Machines)
7. Don’t (Unsane)
8. Unbridled (Samhain)
9. Siege (A.C.) *
10. Morrisey (A.C.) *
11. Chump Change (A.C. cover )*
12. Radio Hit (A.C.) *
13. Song #5 (A.C.) *
14. The Usurper (Celtic Frost) *
* featuring Philip H. Anselmo

CHILD BITE is an American noise rock/hardcore punk/heavy metal band formed in 2005 in Detroit, Michigan. The band’s core members are founding vocalist Shawn Knight and long-time bassist Sean Clancy. CHILD BITE has released four full-length albums and ten EPs over the past twelve years, all featuring artwork by Shawn Knight. Their upcoming two-disc anthology, Burnt Offerings, features twenty-four tracks of rarities and covers recorded between 2010-2017. To date, CHILD BITE has played nearly nine-hundred shows throughout Europe and North America, including tours supporting acts such as Down, Voivod, Negative Approach, Superjoint, Poison Idea, and Unsane. The band recently completed a month-long Australian tour with labelmates King Parrot.