BRAINOIL: Oakland Sludge Practitioners To Unleash Singularity To Extinction This October Via Tankcrimes; New Track Streaming, Preorders Available + First-Ever Tour Of Japan Confirmed

Long-running Oakland sludge practitioners BRAINOIL –featuring within its ranks current and past members of Deathgrave, Laudanum, Graves At Sea, Stormcrow, Grimple, and Watch Them Die among others — will unleash their Singularity To Extinction full-length this October via Tankcrimes. Their first output since 2011’s smoldering Death Of This Dry Season, the long-awaited Singularity To Extinction was captured at Earhammer Studios by bassist/vocalist Greg Wilkinson, mastered at Audisiege by Brad Boatright (Tragedy, Necrot), and boasts seven snarling tracks of gnarly audio bedlam swathed in the apocalyptic cover art of John Santos (Torche, Neurosis, Irata, Noisear). Infusing their signature sludge with unorthodox time signatures, Singularity To Extinction stands as BRAINOIL‘s fastest, crustiest, and most monolithic offering to date. Notes the band, “You will hear new undertones of Bolt Thrower, Carcass, and Corrupted being translated through the unmistakable BRAINOIL filter.”

Sample “Blank Static Void” below.

BRAINOIL‘s Singularity To Extinction, will be available on CD, limited LP (150 – splatter; 350 – smoke housed in metallic foil case wrapped jacket – it shines!), and digital formats October 19th via Tankcrimes.

For CD preorders go to THIS LOCATION where the record can be nabbed for a cool $6.66 for a limited time. For vinyl go HERE and for digital purchases, go HERE (all preorders get an instant download of “Blank Static Void”).

BRAINOIL will play a special record release show October 6th at Eli’s Mile High Club in Oakland before taking on their first-ever tour of Japan alongside with Nagoya grind faction Black Ganion. See all confirmed dates below.

Singularity To Extinction Track Listing:
1. Preface To Madness
2. Corrosive Ribbons Of Light
3. The Spectre’s Vile Hand (The Shock Doctrine)
4. Singularity To Extinction
5. Blank Static Void
6. Recursion Abyss
7. Halcyon Desolation

10/06/2018 Eli’s Mile High Club – Oakland, CA * Record Release Show w/ Ails, Vale, Swamp Witch
w/ Black Ganion:
10/21/2018 El Puente – Yokohama, JP
10/22/2018 Earthdom – Tokyo, JP
10/23/2018 B-One – Gifu, JP
10/24/2018 Socrates – Kyoto, JP
10/25/2018 Pepperland – Okayama, JP
10/26/2018 TBA – Hiroshima, JP
10/27/2018 Hokage – Osaka, JP
10/28/2018 Club Quattro – Nagoya, JP

In 1998, Greg Wilkinson (Deathgrave, ex-Laudanum, ex-Graves At Sea) started playing shows with a drum machine, bass, and circuit-bent noise generators while singing under the moniker MrBrainoil. The vision was to have a noisy sludge rock band fused with crust and hardcore music. By early 2000, Nathan Smith (ex-Destroy!, ex- Nigel Peppercock, ex-Stormcrow) joined on guitar followed by Ira Harris (ex-Grimple, ex- Watch Them Die) who was recruited to the drum position later that year. The band changed its name to BRAINOIL.

Most influenced by the likes of Eyehategod and Dystopia while sounding nothing like either, BRAINOIL would go on to twist its music into a more straight forward sludge/crust sound, usually dabbling in odd time signatures, while ditching the noise aspects. The band released one demo cassette before going on to rampage their way through West Coast venues. Splits with Cruevo and Iron Lung soon followed. In 2003 BRAINOIL dropped the smoldering fruits of their now-iconic self-titled debut full-length, released via Life Is Abuse in the US and Throne Records in Spain. More shows would ensue.

By 2005 however, BRAINOIL coiled up to work on other projects, performing occasional shows locally, until 2009 when schedules shifted and shows became more frequent. BRAINOIL suddenly reared its maniacal head again, sharing stages with the likes of Ghoul, Eyehategod, Cannabis Corpse, Municipal Waste, Deviated Instinct, Buzzo*ven, Doom, Dropdead, Rorschach and many more.

The band’s second full-length, Death Of This Dry Season, was released in 2011 on 20 Buck Spin (LP, digital) and Tankcrimes (tape, CD) effectively making the statement: “We are back!” The music was equally heavy while bringing a notably faster, crustier flavor to the proceedings. The seven years to follow were dedicated to shows, tours, and composing Singularity To Extinction. And now is the time…

Greg Wilkinson – bass, vocals
Nathan Smith – guitar, vocals
Ira Harris – drums