BLACK ANVIL To Release Long-Anticipated New Full-Length; Teaser Posted + Preorders Available

New York-based black metal crew, BLACK ANVIL, is pleased to announce the long-anticipated release of their third full-length.

Blowing minds and eardrums since forming in 2007, BLACK ANVIL‘s aptly titled Hail Death is their most epic and fully realized album to date. It’s one of those rare releases that not only stays true to the band’s roots but manages to transcend them in a way that works all of their seemingly disparate influences into an amalgam of heavy music that’s as original as it is earth-shaking. The sonic fury was captured at Magpie Cage by J. Robbins of Jawbox, who, although best known for recording punk and post-hardcore acts, perfectly understood the band’s creative vision. “He’s got a really good style of making records and I knew he would understand that we wanted to make this sound live and organic as opposed to tight and compressed,” relays bassist/vocalist Paul Delaney, citing Kiss’ Destroyer and Metallica’s Master Of Puppets as inspiration. “I wanted it to be a little more rock ‘n’ roll sounding because I felt the songs were a little bigger and structured. It tells a story from beginning to end and the recording reflects that.” As such, the behemoth offering includes a bonus track: A BLACK ANVILed cover of “Under The Rose” from Kiss’ iconic ninth studio recording, The Elder.

Hail Death wasn’t an easy album to make and the band members’ personal turmoil is reflected in every frenzied moment of the album. “I went through a lot of stuff over the past year and it caused me to move and spend a year of my life in solitude,” Delaney says, explaining that for twelve months he would sit in his room and pour all of his energy and inner chaos into these songs. “This is our journey. I can honestly say that this is probably the most important thing I’ve ever done in my life, even if it never sees the light of day for some reason I’m insanely proud of it.” View the Hail Death teaser below.

Hail Death Track Listing:
1. Still Reborn
2. Redemption Through Blood
3. Eventide
4. Seven Stars Unseen
5. G.N.O.N.
6. Until The End
7. My Hate Is Pure
8. N
9. Next Level Black
10. Under The Rose * (Kiss cover)
* Bonus Track

Hail Death, which includes the stunning cover art of Metastazis (Behemoth, Alcest, Black Dahlia Murder) will be released via Relapse Records in North America/UK/World on May 27th, 2014 preceded by Germany/Benelux/Finland on May 24th, 2014.

Preorder your copy today HERE.

BLACK ANVIL Personnel:
Paul Delaney – Bass/Vocals
Raeph Glicken – Drums/Vocals
Gary Bennett – Guitar/Vocals
Sos – Guitar

“A brawny style of traditional black metal that owes as much to Motörhead and ’80s punk/hardcore as it does Darkthrone.” – Outburn