BERTHOLD CITY: LA Hardcore Act With Members Of Strife, Internal Affairs, And More To Release What Time Takes EP Via WAR Records; “Beware The Snakes” Premiered At No Echo + Preorders Posted

[photos by Todd Pollock]

Los Angeles-based BERTHOLD CITY, founded by veterans of the straightedge hardcore scene through playing with Strife, World Be Free, Internal Affairs, Allegiance, and more, presents their latest release, What Time Takes. As the new EP is locked for release via WAR Records in mid-June, the lead single, “Beware The Snakes,” has been premiered through No Echo.

BERTHOLD CITY returns less than a year after the release of their Moment Of Truth debut EP with a brand new four-song 7″. What Time Takes delivers a heavy dose of pissed-off, anthemic, straight edge hardcore, with all four tracks clocking in at just over seven minutes. What Time Takes was recorded and mixed by Aaron Jamili at Wormhole Studios and mastered by Arthur Rizk (Power Trip, Cavalera Conspiracy, Candy), and its layout and design handled by Jeremy Dean.

Prime hardcore/punk outlet No Echo has posted an interview with band founder and WAR Records owner Andrew Kline (Strife, World Be Free) alongside the first single, “Beware The Snakes.” The interview includes on the track, “Lyrically, ‘Beware the Snakes’ is like a modern version of ‘Don’t Tread On Me.’ I think we have all had a person in our lives that mistakes your kindness for weakness and tries to take advantage of you because you are always there when they need something from you. This song is about identifying all of the two-faced snakes and cutting them out of your life. Bite back!”

Hear BERTHOLD CITY’s “Beware The Snakes” at No Echo at THIS LOCATION.

What Time Takes will see release on 7″ vinyl EP and digital platforms June 14th via WAR Records. Find preorders at the label webshop HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

Watch for additional audio samples and more from the EP to be released in the days ahead.

What Time Takes Track Listing:
1. What Time Takes
2. No One To Blame
3. Beware The Snakes
4. Broken Foundation

BERTHOLD CITY was formed in 2017 by Andrew Kline, guitarist for Strife and World Be Free, who here handles vocals/ To form the lineup, Kline recruited guitarists Dennis McDonald (Internal Affairs) and Devin Vale (Final Fight), drummer Adam Galindo (One Choice), and bassist John Eightclip (Allegiance). The band immediately recorded a three-song demo, written in the musical and lyrical spirit of the seminal Judge 7″, which began their path into the hardcore scene. Less than a year later, they issued their debut EP, Moment Of Truth, which was tracked by Aaron Jamili at Wormhole Studios, then mastered by Don Fury (Gorilla Biscuits, Agnostic Front, Youth Of Today), and met with positive reactions from media and fans abroad.

The BERTHOLD CITY crew has remained busy on the road, performing and touring with the likes of Terror, Regulate, Fireburn, Kill Your Idols, Fury, Judge, Shelter, Strife, Snapcase, Modern Life Is War, Gouge Away, DARE, Dangers, Shook Ones, Agnostic Front, Give, Sick Of It All, and more, and playing festivals including United Blood and Mutiny On The Bay. New shows are being booked in support of the new EP; expect new tour dates to be posted throughout the months ahead.

5/31/2019 Programme Skate & Sound – Fullerton, CA w/ Soul Power, Rejection Pact, Frontside, XReignX