BERTHOLD CITY: Decibel Magazine Premieres Title Track To What Time Takes; New EP From LA Hardcore Outfit Nears Release Via WAR Records

[photo by Michael Thorn]

Decibel Magazine is streaming “What Time Takes,” the title track to the new EP by Los Angeles hardcore outfit, BERTHOLD CITY, founded by members of Strife, World Be Free, Internal Affairs, Allegiance, and more. The What Time Takes EP is nearing release through WAR Records in June.

BERTHOLD CITY returns less than a year after the release of their Moment Of Truth debut with a brand new four-song 7-inch, What Time Takes, delivering a heavy dose of pissed-off, anthemic, straight edge hardcore, with four tracks clocking in at just over seven minutes. What Time Takes was recorded and mixed by Aaron Jamili at Wormhole Studios and mastered by Arthur Rizk (Power Trip, Cavalera Conspiracy, Candy), and its layout and design handled by Jeremy Dean.

With their debut of BERTHOLD CITY‘s “What Time Takes,” Decibel notes, “Like Moment Of Truth, the songs on What Time Takes are stripped-down hardcore offerings written with stagedives, mic grabs, and mosh pits in mind.”

Stream the song now at THIS LOCATION.

What Time Takes will see release on 7″ vinyl EP and digital platforms June 14th via WAR Records. Find preorders at the label webshop HERE, iTunes HERE, Bandcamp where “Beware The Snakes” is streaming HERE.

5/31/2019 Programme Skate & Sound – Fullerton, CA w/ Soul Power, Rejection Pact, Frontside, XReignX

BERTHOLD CITY was formed in 2017 by Andrew Kline, guitarist for Strife and World Be Free, who here handles vocals/ To form the lineup, Kline recruited guitarists Dennis McDonald (Internal Affairs) and Devin Vale (Final Fight), drummer Adam Galindo (One Choice), and bassist John Eightclip (Allegiance). The band immediately recorded a three-song demo, written in the musical and lyrical spirit of the seminal Judge 7″, which began their path into the hardcore scene. Less than a year later, they issued their debut EP, Moment Of Truth, which was tracked by Aaron Jamili at Wormhole Studios, then mastered by Don Fury (Gorilla Biscuits, Agnostic Front, Youth Of Today), and met with positive reactions from media and fans abroad.

The BERTHOLD CITY crew has remained busy on the road, performing and touring with the likes of Terror, Regulate, Fireburn, Kill Your Idols, Fury, Judge, Shelter, Strife, Snapcase, Modern Life Is War, Gouge Away, DARE, Dangers, Shook Ones, Agnostic Front, Give, Sick Of It All, and more, and playing festivals including United Blood and Mutiny On The Bay. New shows are being booked in support of the new EP; expect new tour dates to be posted throughout the months ahead.