AUSTIN STAMBAUGH: Nashville Folk Artist Releases New Album Through Anti-Corporate Music’s Outdoor Series The Magnolia Sessions; “My Fear Of God” Playing At The Sleeping Shaman

photo by Ericka Poore

Anti-Corporate Music presents the ninth title in their acclaimed intimate, outdoor performance singer/songwriter series, The Magnolia Sessions, this time by Nashville-based folk artist AUSTIN STAMBAUGH. In conjunction with the album’s digital release, today The Sleeping Shaman is hosting an exclusive stream of the track “My Fear Of God.”

The Magnolia Sessions, which launched in September 2020, is a series which sees a new album released the first week of each month. Showcasing bluegrass, dark country, and folk singer/songwriter acts in an intimate outdoor setting at the Anti-Corporate Music/Black Matter Mastering headquarters in Nashville, Tennessee, the series has already spawned albums from Matt Heckler, Jason Dea West, Johno Leeroy, Cristina Vane, Nick Hans, Casper Allen, Jeff Loops, and Angela Autumn, all of which have attracted listeners from the scene’s passionate fanbase, and most of which have debuted on the Billboard Bluegrass Charts. Each installment features a different artist, some with additional guest musicians, who performs a live album of sorts, recorded outdoors by a large magnolia tree, as originally seen in Lost Dog Street Band’s “September Doves” video for GemsOnVHS several years ago.

AUSTIN STAMBAUGH reveals, “These songs to me have a yearn like old hymns, they are ideas that offer insight on the perspective of oneself and limitations. They are about existential fear and self-accountability. ‘God Please Save My Soul’ was a real feeling I had to say. I also wanted to put some good in the world and encourage people. Like with the song ‘Do Your Best with What You Have Now.’ I wanted it to serve as a reachable encouragement, and the melody to resolve close to purity. That spooky sound with living lyrics! I’ve been telling people it’s sort of a schizophrenic religious album. The horror hymn ‘My Fear Of God’ is the scariest one on the record, the act of reaching out your hand to feel God, and snatching nothing.”

Anti-Corporate Music and Black Matter Mastering’s Dan Emery, who engineers and produces The Magnolia Sessions, writes, “AUSTIN is one of those rare types of songwriters. I think he’s from outer space. He writes in a very fluid way that also forces you to think about what he’s saying. When we recorded his session, it was actually the first time I had met him, but by the time we wrapped up, I felt like we had known each other for quite some time. He has a very natural humanity to his character.”

With the “My Fear Of God” single, The Sleeping Shaman writes in part, “It’s the first Friday of the month and you know what that means; it’s time to premiere a track for the now ninth installment for The Magnolia Sessions. Once again Dan Emery, the mastermind behind the series, brings us yet another hidden gem from the country and folk underbelly in the form of singer songwriter Austin Stambaugh and the heartfelt track ‘My Fear Of God.'”

Stream AUSTIN STAMBAUGH’s “My Fear Of God” first through The Sleeping Shaman now at THIS LOCATION.

The Magnolia Sessions titles are available directly through Anti-Corporate Music’s webshop HERE.

AUSTIN STAMBAUGH is a guitarist, poet, and songwriter, originally from Northeastern Ohio, now located in Nashville, Tennessee. Enriched with an authenticity that is magnetically keen, he has supported national touring acts such as Joe Ely and Kinky Friedman. His work has been called, “Timeless and nuanced, starkly sad and a little funny…,” by Lilly Hiatt, who says, “enjoy with the lights low.” Noel McKay wrote, “ AUSTIN STAMBAUGH is one of those rare, inspired songwriters who isn’t just writing what he thinks he’s supposed to. His dedication to real storytelling and poetry makes his work effortlessly entertaining.”

AUSTIN STAMBAUGH – The Magnolia Sessions Track Listing:
1. God Please Save My Soul
2. Do Your Best With What You Have Now
3. My Fear Of God
4. Every Bit Of Your Luck
5. I Still Wonder
6. Only One Can Do
7. With Your Help
8. Come On And Look At What You’ve Done