APES: Metal Injection Premieres “The Great Fire” From Canadian Blackened Grindcore Outfit; Penitence Full-Length To See Release On June 14th Via Secret Swarm Records

Photo by Tom Morin

Metal Injection is currently streaming “The Great Fire” from Canadian blackened grindcore sextet APES. The latest bruiser comes by way of the band’s upcoming new full-length Penitence, due for release on June 14th via Secret Swarm Records.

Comments vocalist Alexandre Goulet, ” Feel the weight of ‘The Great Fire’ as it takes you on a bone-crushing journey. This track upholds our tradition of crafting slower-yet-heavier songs, which unavoidably become favorites. Rest assured; this one will be no exception! It harnesses the power of our triple-guitar setup and builds to a climactic mosh-worthy finale that will resonate long after the last chord fades. ‘LET MY TORCHING BODY BE YOUR GUIDE THROUGH THE NIGHT!’”

Adds Metal Injection, “Before the full song even kicks in, you’re gonna get sense of the sheer auditory weight thanks to that devastating guitar tone and equally spacious drum tone. It’s all beefy.”

Stream APES’ “The Great Fire” at THIS LOCATION.

Watch APES’ previously released video for first single, “Coffin,” at THIS LOCATION.

Forged in the early 2010s, APES is renowned for their distinctive fusion of grindcore, black metal, and hardcore. The band was conceived with a singular purpose: to craft heavy and unapologetically relentless music, breaking down all barriers in their path. Their merciless sound, coupled with intense live performances alongside notable acts such as Full Of Hell, Cattle Decapitation, Nails, and Unearth, positioned them as an indispensable force within the Canadian extreme music scene. After releasing a series of EPs and their debut full-length album, Lightless, in 2017, APES joined forces with Translation Loss in 2022 to release Lullabies For Eternal Sleep, a widely acclaimed EP that further explores the blending of extreme genres.

The record reaped critical accolades with Knotfest gushing, “This death metal infused grindcore eviscerator offers up a healthy dose of nihilism and misanthropy and is just devastatingly heavy as it crosses genre boundaries without care. APES looked at extremity and just simply said, ‘Yes!’” BrooklynVegan wrote, “Sometimes it operates at jackhammer speeds, other times it’s slow and heavy, and other times it offers up nothing but white noise… before unexpectedly exploding into a series of blood-curdling screams.” Added Decibel Magazine, “Hush little baby, don’t say a word, ’cause APES are gonna traumatize the bejeezus out of you.”

APES’ Penitence delivers eight ravenously heavy and dark tracks that will immerse listeners in an unmistakable sense of impending doom. Skillfully weaving through various nuances of grimness, Penitence unquestionably solidifies APES’ position as influential figures in Canadian extreme music.

Penitence was recorded by Marc-Antoine Desjardins and Raphael Malenfant at Broil Audiomixed by Andy Nelson at Bricktop Recording, and mastered by Will Putney at Graphic Nature Audio. Artwork was created by the band’s Alexandre Goulet of Goule x Design.

Penitence will be released on vinyl by Secret Swarm Records and digitally by the band with a CD and cassette edition to follow. Find physical preorders HERE and digital orders HERE.

Alexandre Goulet – vocals
Patrick Cloutier – guitars
Simon Olivier – guitars
Louis Ladouceur – guitars
Gabriel D’Amours – drums, noises
Philip Roy – bass