ANGRA: Progressive Power Metal Icons Release First Studio Album In Five Years; Cycles Of Pain Out Now On Atomic Fire Records!

Photo by Marcos Hermes

The long wait for fans worldwide is finally over as Brazilian progressive power metal icons ANGRA release their first new studio album in five years, Cycles Of Pain, today via Atomic Fire Records.

Cycles Of Pain was produced, recorded, mixed, and mastered by longtime ANGRA partner Dennis Ward (D.C. Cooper, Pink Cream 69, Place Vendome) at the Sonastério & Elephant Office in Brazil, while mixing and mastering took place at The TrakShak in Karlsdorf, Germany. Its artwork was designed by Erick Pasqua before Jonathan Canuto took care of layout duties.The album also features a range of guests including appearances by Amanda Somerville (“Tears Of Blood”), Brazilian artists Lenine (“Vida Seca”) and Vanessa Moreno (“Tide Of Changes – Part II” and “Here In The Now”), and Juliana D’Agostini on piano (“Tears Of Blood”).

To celebrate the release of Cycles Of Pain, the band will be playing a special record release show at São PaulO’S Tokio Marine Hall tonight which will include the special guests who have contributed to the twelve new tracks.

Cycles Of Pain is available in the following formats: digipak CD, jewel case CD, vinyl in various color variants (Red/Yellow Split, Clear/Blue Marbled, Clear Yellow/White Splatter), and digitally.

Order the album in the physical format of your choice, stream it on your favorite DSP, or order it digitally at

Watch ANGRA’s previously released videos for “Gods Of The World” HERE,  “Ride Into The Storm” HERE, and “Tide Of Changes” HERE.

Subscribe to Atomic Fire Records on YouTube HERE and listen to Vida Seca [feat. Lenine] as well as other new tracks in the AFR New Releases playlist on Spotify HERE.

ANGRA’s metal leadership began over thirty years ago in 1991. Hailing since then as one of the finest metal acts originating from South America, the last decade saw the addition of vocalist Fabio Lione (Athena XIX, ex-Rhapsody Of Fire, ex-Vision Divine etc.) to their ranks. With Rafael Bittencourt and Marcelo Barbosa on guitars, Felipe Andreoli on bass, and Bruno Valverde on drums, ANGRA has been keeping the momentum and now they are ready to release their long-awaited tenth studio album through their new label partner, Atomic Fire Records.

11/03/2023 Tokio Marine Hall (Album Release Show!) – São Paulo, BR
11/04/2023 Toca Beach House – Sorocaba, BR
11/10/2023 Stage Hall – Mogi Das Cruzes, BR
11/11/2023 Espaço Leste – São Paulo, BR
11/14/2023 Lenda Music – Americana, BR
11/17/2023 Pirata Rock Bar – Jaraguá Do Sul, BR
11/18/2023 Armageddon Metal Fest – Joinville, BR
11/19/2023 Opinião – Porto Alegre, BR
12/01/2023 Mister Rock – Belo Horizonte, BR
12/02/2023 Parque de Exposições João Alencar Athayde – Montes Claros, BR
12/07/2023 Bueiro Do Rock – Teresina, BR
12/08/2023 Clube Cabo Branco – João Pessoa, BR
12/09/2023 Clube Internacional Do Recife – Recife, BR
12/10/2023 Concha Acústica – Salvador, BR
12/15/2023 Circo Voador – Rio de Janeiro, BR
12/16/2023 Espaço G3 – Ribeirão Preto, BR
1/29–2/02/2024 70,000 Tons Of Metal – Miami, FL
4/26-28/2024 Summer Breeze Brasil – São Paulo, BR
9/04/2024 ProgPower USA @ Center Stage – Atlanta, GA

“…ANGRA have devised an instantly enjoyable album that will leave you with plenty of details to unpick on repeated listens.” – Distorted Sound

“A blockbuster of an album!” –

“Cycles Of Pain is a must-own for any and every fan of power and progressive metal willing to slightly open their minds for a unique sonic experience.” – Metal Rules

“Fabio Lione’s potent vocals and ANGRA’s musicianship make for another diverse and quality album.” – Heavy Music HQ

“It is emotional, dark, light, heavy, soft, powerful and musically excellent with complex songs that take the listener on a musical journey that is bound to evoke thoughts of life and death.” – The Metal Pit

ANGRA plays the game well, and in 2023, you’d be hard-pressed to find this stadium-sized brand of anthemic prog/power in finer and fresher presentation than what Cycles Of Pain packs in its hour.” – Angry Metal Guy

“…a rich tapestry of musical exploration, seamlessly weaving together the prog power vein, Brazilian music elements, and flirtation with human emotions.” – Metal Wani

Fabio Lione – vocals
Rafael Bittencourt – guitars
Marcelo Barbosa – guitars
Felipe Andreoli – bass
Bruno Valverde – drums

Artwork by Erick Pasqua | Layout by Jonathan Canuto