AMENRA: BrooklynVegan Premieres “Black Crow Blues” Video Performance; Songs Of Townes Van Zandt Vol. III With AMENRA, CAVE IN, And MARISSA NADLER Out Now On Neurot Recordings

As Neurot Recordings continues to support the Songs Of Townes Van Zandt Vol. III LP, with contributions from AMENRA, CAVE IN, and MELISSA NADLER, BrooklynVegan is hosting a new video of AMENRA members performing their rendition of “Black Crow Blues.”

Beloved American singer-songwriter passed away at the age of 52 on January 1st, 1997, in Mount Juliet, Tennessee. His music touches people. Many believe he was a genius, and sing his sad, brilliant songs. Imagine if he was still creating music, in a time when artists themselves decide what to release and when to do it – something that songwriters of his era often were unable to do.

In 2012, the label My Proud Mountain was established specifically for the purpose of releasing the first Songs Of Townes Van Zandt LP, which included contributions from members of Neurosis, The Obsessed, and more. The goal was to introduce these brilliant works to fans who may have never heard the originals, but through the interpretation of the songs through the mentioned musicians, would lead them to do so. A second installment was issued two years later, further expanding the reach of the series with contributions from members of Yob, Baroness, and US Christmas.

2022 saw the release of Songs Of Townes Van Zandt Vol. III, featuring new renditions of nine classic tracks as interpreted by AMENRA, CAVE IN, and MARISSA NADLER. A multitude of audio previews, video performances, official videos, and more have been disseminated throughout the year, and before it draws to a close, AMENRA presents their acoustic performance of “Black Crow Blues.”

Lennart Bossu reveals, “‘Black Crow Blues’ was one of the first Townes Van Zandt songs that we ever heard, and it made us want to further explore his work. Our guitarist Mathieu shot the video, and our good friend Gilles Demolder recorded the audio, so we really kept things in the family for this one. We did no more than a couple of takes and then chose the one that came the closest to expressing the beautiful sadness of the original.”

Colin H van Eeckhout declares, “First time I heard the song I knew it would need to be played at my funeral. Some songs just hit home.”

Watch AMENRA’s acoustic performance of Townes Van Zandt’s “Black Crow Blues” first via BrooklynVegan RIGHT HERE.

Songs Of Townes Van Zandt Vol. III is now available on multiple vinyl variants and on CD – in North America through Neurot Recordings HERE, internationally via My Proud Mountain HERE – and digitally at Bandcamp HERE and all other DSPs HERE.

Songs Of Townes Van Zandt Vol. III Track Listing:
1. Marissa Nadler – Quicksilver Daydreams Of Maria
2. Amenra – Black Crow Blues
3. Cave In – Nothin’
4. Amenra – Kathleen
5. Cave In – The Hole
6. Amenra – Flyin’ Shoes
7. Marissa Nadler – Sad Cinderella
8. Cave In – At My Window
9. Marissa Nadler – None But The Rain