AKRIS: New Track From Psychedelic Sludge Duo Now Playing At Decibel Magazine

Today Decibel Magazine is pleased to rattle some pavement with the relentless bottom-end rumblings of “Row Of Lights,” from Virginia-based psychedelic sludge sorcerers and recent Domestic Genocide signees, AKRIS. The suffocating hymn comes by way of their self-titled full-length debut, set for release later this month. Recorded by Chris Kozlowski (Melvins, Spirit Caravan, Pentagram, Earthride, etc.), at Polar Bear Lair Studios in Middleton, Maryland, AKRIS delivers ten noise-strewn tracks of chest-caving enormity.

Dubbed “epic, filthy-yet-strangely-beguiling sludge noise perfection” by Decibel, taste the rumble of “Row Of Lights” RIGHT HERE.

Akris Track Listing:
1. Fighter Pilot
2. Brown
3. Profit
4. Unidentified
5. Riverbed
6. Part of Me
7. Row of Lights
8. Vomit Within
9. Redeemer
10. Suffocate

The story of AKRIS begins in the middle, on a fateful June night in 2011 when vocalist/ bassist Helena Goldberg met drummer Sam Lohman at a house show in Alexandria, Virginia. Goldberg had begun AKRIS three years prior, continuing the path she had blazed with her first band Aquila. An accomplished and classically trained pianist, Goldberg began playing bass while studying piano and composition at the Manhattan School of Music, graduating in 2008. Her uncle and mentor, world renowned master musician and accomplished recording artist Charles Burnham, gave Goldberg her first bass and taught her improvisational skills. A deep knowledge of musical theory and composition mixed with a deep, near-gut wrenching adoration for heavy music is where AKRIS derives its sound. Powered by Earth and Sunn amps, Goldberg’s bass sound can only be matched by the sheer concentration of her vocals making for an avalanche of sonic severity. Lohman, who appears on the debut but was recently replaced by Cheykha Bessid, has been playing clubs since 1980 and has since performed with various bands including Sheer Terror, Dust Devils, Nimrod, Sikhara, Steve Mackay and the Radon Ensemble, Acid Mothers Temple, Sonic Suicide Squad, and his solo noise project, 36.

Akris will see release via Domestic Genocide Records on September 24, 2013. For preorders, point your browser HERE.