ZERO HOUR: The Towers Of Avarice, The Beloved 2001-Released Album From California Progressive Metal Icons, Out Today On Vinyl For The First Time Through Sensory Records

Sensory Records, the metal branch of leading progressive label The Lasers Edge Group, today issues the remastered first-ever vinyl pressing of The Towers Of Avarice, the beloved second album from California progressive metal icons ZERO HOUR.

ZERO HOUR’s influences range from the dark brooding power of Fates Warning to the intricate technicality of Spiral Architect and Meshuggah. At the time of The Towers Of Avarice release through Sensory Records in 2001, the band was formed by twin brothers Jasun and Troy Tipton on guitars and bass respectively, drummer Mike Guy, and vocalist Erik Rosvold. Long hailed as a masterpiece of progressive/technical metal, this album was produced by Dino Alden (Marty Friedman, Mordred, Imagika) and has been the cornerstone of prog collections since its release.

Metal Maniacs praised The Towers Of Avarice, writing in part, “A futuristic concept album that reads almost like a Marxist allegory… weaving intricately wrought progressive passages into a crushingly heavy framework that owes as much to Meshuggah as Dream Theater.”

The Towers Of Avarice is a bleak futuristic conceptual work reminiscent of Blade Runner. The story tells the tale of two societies – one above ground obsessed with consumption and the restless slaves living underground that are under their control. Guitar and bass interlock seamlessly only to be interrupted by a staccato assault of crushing guitar riffs and soaring vocals. Rosvold is a truly gifted singer, often compared to Ronnie James Dio and John Arch, and here, he grabs the spotlight with his angst-ridden vocals, conveying all the drama that unfolds in the tale. This truly is a complex masterpiece of epic progressive metal.

Twenty-two years after its original release, Sensory is pleased to make The Towers Of Avarice available on vinyl for the first time. This remastered incarnation of the album was cut for vinyl from the original pre-mastered recording for maximum dynamics by Chris Muth (Dangerous Music), and features surrealist artwork and graphic design by Travis Smith who has worked with Nevermore, Opeth, Katatonia, Sadus, and others.

Jasun Tipton states, “Much care was put into the The Towers Of Avarice vinyl. With the mastering of Chris Muth, and a real audiophile guru in Ken Golden, the vinyl sounds outstanding.”

Golden adds, “Reissuing The Towers Of Avarice on vinyl has long been something I’ve wanted to do and I decided that it was finally the right time. We discovered the original pre-mastered mix in our archives and commissioned renowned engineer Chris Muth to cut the vinyl. Chris and I discussed the mix and we agreed that he should forget the common stereotypes of how a metal album should sound. Chris took a purist approach resulting in a more dynamic sound that simply requires the listener to turn up the volume a bit. This album needs to be played loud, and the vinyl edition delivers the goods.”

ZERO HOUR’s remastered The Towers Of Avarice vinyl reissue is available today at the Lasers Edge webshop HERE.

The Towers Of Avarice LP Track Listing:
Side A:
1. The Towers Of Avarice
2. The Subterranean
3. Stratagem
4. Reflections

Side B:
1. Demise And Vestige
2. The Ghosts Of Dawn