WATERTANK: Second LP From French Noisy Alternative/Post-Rock Quartet Out Now On Solar Flare Records And Streaming In Its Entirety

Destination Unknown, the sophomore album from French quartet, WATERTANK, is out today through Solar Flare Records and playing in its entirety.

Two years after their first LP, Nantes-based WATERTANK returns with their nine-track full-length, Destination Unknown, bringing forth nearly thirty-five minutes of brand new material. While the album came together quickly, being composed and recorded with unusually short notice, the LP cohesively reveals a more confident band through this new batch of strongly crafted songs showing several sides of the band’s merging of grittier, noise rock-influenced elements and infectious, melodious alternative/post-rock atmospheres. The band is still in love with melodic hooks, and down­tuned heavy riffing, as heard especially in cuts like “Dcvr” and “Doomed Drifters,” yet Destination Unknown sees them evolving from their post­-hardcore background in tracks like “Contrails” and exploring new territories completely within “Scheme” and the title track, as always aiming to deliver lasting listening enjoyment. Once again recorded by Patrice Guillerme (Papier Tigre, Patriotic Sunday) and mastered by Carl Saff (Coliseum, Pilot To Gunner), Destination Unknown marks a step forwards for the renewed line­up. If you’re into Torche, Quicksand, Jawbox, Sense Field and Failure, WATERTANK is for you.

Stream WATERTANK’s Destination Unknown in its entirety now at Solar Flare Records’ Bandcamp at THIS LOCATION watch the video for “Surrender” via Noisey HERE.

Destination Unknown is officially out today via the noise rock specialists at Clermont, France’s Solar Flare Records, on CD, LP and digital formats. View the multiple options and bundles HERE.