VIRTUAL SYMMETRY: Swiss-Italian Cinematic Metal Band Posts Details For Eponymous Fourth Album Set For September Release Via Sensory Records

photos by Kyrhian Balmelli

Sensory Records will release the eponymous fourth album from Swiss-Italian cinematic/progressive metal outfit VIRTUAL SYMMETRY in September, today unveiling the record’s cover art, track listing, and more.

VIRTUAL SYMMETRY was founded in 2009 as a solo project of guitarist Valerio Æsir Villa, when the first ideas for the debut album, Message From Eternity, began taking shape. The band’s lineup has since expanded to now include vocalist Marco Pastorino, keyboardist Marco “Mark” Bravi, bassist Alessandro Poppale, and drummer Alfonso Mocerino. Featuring members of Temperance and Fallen Sanctuary, the band is a revelation in the progressive metal universe, stunning their fans and listeners with influences which range from classical music to contemporary metal and a style characterized by epic suites, rich of cinematic elements and balance between melody and technique, leading the listeners through a dynamic and emotional journey in each track.

Some honorable mentions among their live shows are 2015’s debut live show with Evergrey and Dream Theater, 2017’s live show supporting Deep Purple’s keyboardist Don Airey.

Between 2018 and 2020 the band composed and produced their third album, Exoverse, which was recorded at Peter Gabriel’s Real World Studios in Bath, UK, featuring many special guests, such as legendary drummer Thomas Lang, a return performance by Dream Theater keyboardist Jordan Rudess, saxophonist Ruben Paganelli, the symphonic orchestra Sinfonietta Consonus, and Evergrey’s Tom S. Englund.

Featuring eight sprawling and immersive new movements, the band’s fourth album Virtual Symmetry was recorded by the members of VIRTUAL SYMMETRY, mixed and mastered at Domination Studio by Simone Mularoni (DGM, Michael Romeo, Turilli Lione Rhapsody), and completed with artwork and photography by Kyrhian Balmelli.

Sensory Records will issue Virtual Symmetry on CD and all digital providers on September 16th. Watch for audio previews, videos, preorders, and more to be issued surrounding the album’s release.

Virtual Symmetry Track Listing:
1. Virtual Symmetry
2. My Story Unfolds
3. The Paradise Of Lies
4. Come Alive
5. Butterfly Effect
6. Fantasie Di Verità
7. Rising
8. Insomnia

VIRTUAL SYMMETRY has been confirmed alongside Fractal Universe as support for Evergrey for five weeks on their 2022 European tour, which runs from September 16th – the day of Virtual Symmetry’s release – through October 23rd. See all confirmed tour dates and more at the band’s website HERE and at their various social media points.

Valerio Æsir Villa – guitars
Marco Pastorino – vocals
Marco Bravi – keyboards
Alessandro Poppale – bass
Alfonso Mocerino – drums