VAURA: Brooklyn-Based Experimental Ensemble Featuring Members Of Gorguts, Dysrhythmia, Azar Swan, Kayo Dot, And Tombs To Release Sables Full-Length This April Via Profound Lore; New Track Streaming

Stream / Share VAURA’sThe Ruins (Hymne)” At

The ever-evolving quartet VAURA follows up their 2013 album The Missing almost six years later with Sables, their most refined and contemplative release yet. Introspective and somber, Sables finds the band shedding most of its post-metal heaviness in favor of experiments with brooding kosmische musik and the more avant-garde elements of new wave.

Featuring Josh Strawn (Azar Swan) on vocals, guitar and synthesizers, Kevin Hufnagel (Gorguts, Dysrhythmia) on guitar, Toby Driver (Kayo Dot) on bass, and Charlie Schmid (Tombs) on drums and electronics, VAURA engages ever more with their UK and German prog/art rock influences to grandiose and eerie effect. While still retaining the distinctive and specific style carved out on the band’s first two releases — Selenelion in 2010 and The Missing one year later — Sables is the all-vital third LP, a concise collection of meditative compositions on endings and extinctions. Brilliantly complemented by the mixing and production work of legendary UK producer Peter Walsh (Scott Walker, Peter Gabriel), VAURA has delivered their best sounding, most intricate and realized album yet.

Sables will be released on CD, LP, and digital formats via Profound Lore on April 26th with preorders to be announced in the coming weeks.

In the meantime, stream VAURA’sThe Ruins (Hymne)” below.

Sables Track Listing:
1. Espionage
2. Zwischen
3. The Lightless Ones
4. The Ruins (Hymne)
5. No Guardians
6. Eidolon
7. Basilisk (The Infinite Corpse)
8. Sables

Josh Strawn – vocals, guitar
Kevin Hufnagel – guitar
Charlie Schmid – drums
Toby Driver – bass