TINY KNIVES: Eolian Empire To Issue Black Haze LP From Portland Trio; New Track “Cowschwitz” Playing At New Noise Magazine

Tiny Knives[photo by James Rexroad]

TINY KNIVES‘ more unhinged moments recall Crass’ reckless musical abandon at times, and His Hero Is Gone’s crushing anger at others.” – Portland Mercury

Portland, Oregon-based outsider label, Eolian Empire, is preparing to release the vinyl debut by hometown assassins, TINY KNIVES, with the trio’s raging Black Haze LP in February.

Fixtures of the Portland underground scene for the last six years, TINY KNIVES combines anarcho-punk with frenzied rock ‘n’ roll and douses it in avant madness. See-sawing between full-speed-ahead riffage and heavy emotional bulldozing, sprinkled with startling prettiness, the trio coheres these stylistic shifts into a sound that rings familiar bells while resolutely being their own thing. And in the three years since their excellent cassette Static (released on compatriot label Stankhouse) the members of TINY KNIVES have clearly sharpened their chops and cranked up the intensity.

TINY KNIVES cuts deep with Black Haze; the rhythm section is a fine-tuned propulsion engine that turns on a dime, built on ’77 fundamentals but often veering sideways into strange times and modes, driven by fuzzed-out chords and vocals that shapeshift through brutal growls, rapid-fire shouts, lovely balladeering, and spoken word tirades. The album was recorded by Caravan Recordings with engineering handled by Andrew Grosse and Jose DeLara, the later also handling mixing, mastering duties. It’s a rant-fueled, maniacal, white-knuckled ride through Portland’s gritty back-alleys; killer stuff.

New Noise Magazine helps break the masses into the ways of TINY KNIVES with an exclusive stream of Black Haze‘s “Cowschwitz,” posted RIGHT HERE.

Eolian Empire will release Black Haze on LP and Digital platforms on February 5th. Stand by for further audio leaks other propaganda preceding the album’s public dispersal. Preorders for the wax platters are live HERE.

TINY KNIVES will kick the shit out of their home turf with a record release show for Black Haze this Saturday, January 16th, joined by Hooded Hags, Tig Bitty, and Eolian-operating scum trio, Rabbits. Additional tour dates will be spat forth shortly.

1/16/2016 High Water Mark – Portland, OR *record release show w/ Rabbits, Hooded Hags, Tig Bitty

ELN31_Tiny Knives_jacket

Black Haze Track Listing:
1. Dark History
2. Past Tense
3. Magic Xians
4. Silk In The Water
5. Cowschwitz
6. Lights In The Sky
7. The Fuck-!-
8. Winter

Tiny Knives:
Ursula Morton – bass
Jamey Anderson – drums
Jai Milx – guitar, vocals