THOUGHT EATER / IRON JAWED GURU Vortex 6 Split Nears Release Via Grimoire Records; Two Tracks Streaming At The Obelisk


Grimoire Records is preparing for the release of Vortex 6, a full length instrumental split album with Baltimore’s THOUGHT EATER and West Virginia’s IRON JAWED GURU, a track from each band now playing at The Obelisk as preorders are made available.

Both sides of the Vortex 6 split were tracked by Grimoire Records’ owner Noel Mueller in his Maryland-based home studio about a month apart from each other. While not originally planned as a split, the two recordings seemed like a great match, so the label introduced the two bands and the decision to unite the recordings was made immediately.

Tune in to The Obelisk to scope THOUGHT EATER’s “Crystal Maze” and IRON JAWED GURU’s “Emerald Seer” RIGHT HERE.

Vortex 6 will see digital download and CD release on October 21st; preorders are available HERE.

Side A of Vortex 6 introduces THOUGHT EATER, a brand new three-piece instrumental band featuring a twelve-string bass through a big muff. This monstrosity is a standard bass with three of everything, producing a bizarre double-vision effect on every note. Uniquely hypnotic riffs reminiscent of High On Fire and Mastodon along with Black Sabbath-esque tempo changes are woven into angular, odd-time compositions. Prior to forming THOUGHT EATER, bassist Darin Tambascio was a founding member of the prog metal two-piece National Sunday Law and Graviton, which featured both members of NSL and Sacha Dunable from Intronaut.

Side B houses the new works by instrumental power duo IRON JAWED GURU, back with their second release through Grimoire in 2016. True to Mata Hari form, their “Killer stoner rock riffs” [Two Guys Metal Reviews], are woven into epic compositions reminiscent of Kyuss and Russian Circles. They too employ a novel technique to thicken up their sound, running their guitar through an array of different amps and octavers to create a mammoth wall of sound with a paradoxically clean edge.

Vortex 6 Track Listing:
1. Vortex 6
2. Crystal Maze
3. Crushing Metaphysical Crisis
4. Gift of Death
5. Black Fortress
6. Emerald Seer
7. Glaive
8. Widow of the Web

Douglas Griffith – guitar
Darin Tambascio – bass guitar
Bobby Murray – drums

Roy Brewer – Drums
Mike Lorenzen – Other Noises