THE ETERNAL Reveals Official Video For Emotional New Single, “When The Fire Dies;” Skinwalker Full-Length Nears Release Via Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM)

Photo by AJ Savolainen

Continuing the thematic journey established in the first single, “Deathlike Silence,” “When The Fire Dies” serves as a poignant exploration of the darker realms within Finnish-Australian metal quartet THE ETERNAL‘s sonic landscape. The track comes by way of the band’s long-awaited new album, Skinwalker, set for release on June 28th via Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM).

Graced by the stellar performances of Dutch cellist Elianne Anemaat (Celestial Season) and Russian vocalist Emily Saaen, a long-time collaborator of the group, the band’s third single delves deeper into the doom aspects of their sound, crafting a slow-burning and emotionally charged narrative. The poetic storytelling of the track is accompanied by a band video of haunting beauty, scripting the transformation and renewal amidst the ashes of fading flames.

Drummer Jan Rechberger (Amorphis) notes, “Imbued with an ethereal quality, Mark [Kelson]’s vocals serve as a beacon of hope amidst the dense and atmospheric soundscape. His haunting delivery adds layers of complexity, evoking a sense of vulnerability and introspection.”

“Lyrically, ‘When The Fire Dies’ confronts the profound emotions of loss and confusion that accompany the gradual drift between two individuals. The song serves as a cathartic expression of grief, delving into the raw and tumultuous journey of acceptance and letting go,” adds mastermind Mark Kelson.

Watch THE ETERNAL’s “When The Fire Dies” video at THIS LOCATION. Stream/purchase the track at THIS LOCATION.

Watch THE ETERNAL’s previously released video for “Deathlike Silence” HERE and “Skinwalker” HERE.

Preorder Skinwalker in the physical format of your choice (digipak CD, Transparent/Black Marbled 2xLP), presave it on your favorite DSP, or preorder it digitally to receive “When The Fire Dies,” “Skinwalker,” and “Deathlike Silence” instantly now at

Skinwalker promises a continuation of the band’s rich musical legacy but is also set to be a defining moment creatively for the band. The album features several notable guest appearances including Tomi Joutsen (Amorphis), Santeri Kallio (Amorphis), Sami Yli-Sirniö (Kreator), and award-winning Tuvian throat singer Albert Kuvezin (Yat-Kha) to name a few. Skinwalker was recorded at guitarist/singer Mark Kelson’s Lucidity Sound Studios and drummer Jan Rechberger’s Moon Unit Studios and produced by Kelson and Rechberger as well as guitarist Richie Poate. The record was also mixed by Kelson and Rechberger at Moon Unit before sending it off to Crystal Mastering in Melbourne, Australia. In the end, creative force Kelson was even responsible for the artwork, supported by the prominent skills of Travis Smith (Opeth, Amorphis).

The distinctive sound of THE ETERNAL is a fusion of dark, melancholic, and emotive metal with influences from both doom and progressive genres. The most recent incarnation of the band includes Jan Rechberger (Amorphis) and Niclas Etelävuori (ex-Amorphis, Flat Earth) along with long-time members Mark Kelson and Richie Poate. Having evolved into a truly international collaboration, with half of the members being based in Melbourne, Australia, and the other half in Helsinki, Finland, THE ETERNAL will release their next album Skinwalker via Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM).

Subscribe to Reigning Phoenix Music on YouTube HERE and listen to When The Fire Dies as well as other new tracks in the RPM New Releases playlist on Spotify HERE.

Mark Kelson – vocals, guitars
Richie Poate – guitars
Niclas Etelävuori – bass
Jan Rechberger – drums, percussion