THE ETERNAL Launches “Under The Black” Lyric Video; New Album, Skinwalker, Out This Friday Via Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM)

Photo by AJ Savolainen

Finnish-Australian metallers THE ETERNAL have unveiled a lyric video for “Under The Black.” The track comes by way of the band’s long-awaited seventh studio album, Skinwalker, set for release this Friday, June 28th, via Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM).

Marking a fresh start for the group with a renewed lineup, the nine-track Skinwalker will please longtime followers of the band as well as new-found listeners by successfully exploring new sonic territories beyond their comfort zone.

“Under The Black” offers a compelling showcase of THE ETERNAL’s progressive inclinations, blending dynamic shifts and emotive storytelling into a captivating sonic journey. With the introduction of guest Santeri Kallio’s (Amorphis) Hammond organ, the track is driven by its pulsating energy. Guided by expressive guitar work and propelled by commanding drums and resounding bass lines, the listener is led through a series of exhilarating peaks and valleys, where haunting vocals take center stage. Dynamically, the track navigates the spectrum from fragile intimacy to bombastic progressive metal, showcasing THE ETERNAL‘s adeptness at crafting multifaceted compositions.

Watch THE ETERNAL’s “Under The Black” video HERE. Stream/purchase the track HERE.

Watch THE ETERNAL’s previously released videos for “Deathlike Silence” HERE, “Skinwalker” HERE, and “When The Fire Dies” HERE.

Preorder Skinwalker in the physical format of your choice (digipak CD, Transparent/Black Marbled 2xLP), presave it on your favorite DSP, or preorder it digitally at

Skinwalker is a continuation of the band’s rich musical legacy but is also set to be a defining moment creatively for the band. The album features several notable guest appearances including Tomi Joutsen (Amorphis), Santeri Kallio (Amorphis), Sami Yli-Sirniö (Kreator), and award-winning Tuvian throat singer Albert Kuvezin (Yat-Kha) to name a few. Skinwalker was recorded at guitarist/singer Mark Kelson’s Lucidity Sound Studios and drummer Jan Rechberger’s Moon Unit Studios and produced by Kelson and Rechberger as well as guitarist Richie Poate. The record was also mixed by Kelson and Rechberger at Moon Unit before sending it off to Crystal Mastering in Melbourne, Australia. In the end, creative force Kelson was even responsible for the artwork, supported by the prominent skills of Travis Smith (Opeth, Amorphis).

The distinctive sound of THE ETERNAL is a fusion of dark, melancholic and emotive metal with influences from both doom and progressive genres. The most recent incarnation of the band includes Jan Rechberger (Amorphis) and Niclas Etelävuori (ex-Amorphis, Flat Earth) along with long-time members Mark Kelson and Richie Poate. Having evolved into a truly international collaboration, with half of the members being based in Melbourne, Australia, and the other half in Helsinki, Finland, THE ETERNAL will release their seventh studio album Skinwalker via Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM).

Subscribe to Reigning Phoenix Music on YouTube HERE and listen to “Under The Black” as well as other new tracks in the RPM New Releases playlist on Spotify HERE.

“…a unified record full of enraptured charm from start to finish.” – Distorted Sound

“This album is simply absolutely fantastic!” —

“The songs carry a heavy emotional impact and burden to the listener, but also make you yearn for more punishment.” – Metal Temple

“An excellently crafted album: Skinwalker grows exponentially listening by listening.” — Rock Hard Italy

“…the time is right for THE ETERNAL: to see them grasp their chance with such flair on Skinwalker is not only thrilling, but also a fitting tribute to Mark Kelson’s vision for the band over more than two decades.” — Sentinel Daily

Mark Kelson – vocals, guitars
Richie Poate – guitars
Niclas Etelävuori – bass
Jan Rechberger – drums, percussion