THE ETERNAL: Finnish-Australian Metal Quartet Returns With New Video/Single, “Deathlike Silence;” Skinwalker Full-Length To Be Released On June 28th

Photo by AJ Savolainen

After six years, Finnish-Australian metal quartet THE ETERNAL breaks their silence by unveiling the first digital single taken from their upcoming seventh studio album, Skinwalker, due out on June 28th via Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM).

“Deathlike Silence” serves as the world’s introduction to THE ETERNAL‘s current lineup, featuring the esteemed talents of new members Jan Rechberger (drums; Amorphis) and Niclas Etelävuori (bass; Flat Earth, ex-Amorphis) which not only marks a significant evolution for the band but also stands as a defining moment in their musical journey.

“Lyrically, ‘Deathlike Silence’ delves deep into the heart of human relationships, exploring the poignant theme of two individuals drifting apart,” the band notes. “Through evocative storytelling, the song captures the disorienting confusion and the deafening silence that accompanies the unraveling of once-intertwined lives. The silence becomes a powerful language of its own, speaking volumes in its absence, echoing the unspoken words and unfulfilled promises which linger in the void.”

Watch THE ETERNAL’s video for “Deathlike Silence” HERE. Stream/purchase the track HERE.

Skinwalker promises a continuation of the band’s rich musical legacy but is also set to be a defining moment creatively for the band. The album features several notable guest appearances including Tomi Joutsen (Amorphis), Santeri Kallio (Amorphis), Sami Yli-Sirniö (Kreator), and award-winning Tuvian throat singer Albert Kuvezin (Yat-Kha) to name a few. Skinwalker was recorded at guitarist/singer Mark Kelson’s Lucidity Sound Studios and drummer Jan Rechberger’s Moon Unit Studios and produced by Kelson and Rechberger as well as guitarist Richie Poate. The record was also mixed by Kelson and Rechberger at Moon Unit before sending it off to Crystal Mastering in Melbourne, Australia. In the end, creative force Kelson was even responsible for the artwork, supported by the prominent skills of Travis Smith (Opeth, Amorphis).

Preorder the album in the physical format of your choice (CD-digi, Transparent/Black Marbled 2xLP), presave it on your favorite DSP, or preorder it digitally to receive “Deathlike Silence” instantly now at

Skinwalker Track Listing:

  1. Abandonded By Hope
  2. Deathlike Silence
  3. Under The Black
  4. Temptation’s Door
  5. The Iconoclast
  6. When The Fire Dies
  7. Fall Upon The Earth
  8. Skinwalker
  9. Shattered Remains

Originally formed in Melbourne, Australia, THE ETERNAL emerged onto the music scene in early 2003 before evolving into a truly international collaboration, with half of the members being based in Melbourne, and the other half in Helsinki, Finland. Over their two-decade journey, the band has garnered international acclaim through the release of six studio albums. Their extensive touring has taken them across national and international landscapes, sharing stages with renowned acts such as Amorphis, Anathema, Him, Katatonia, Swallow The Sun, and Opeth among others. To begin this exciting new chapter in the band’s history, THE ETERNAL recently signed an international long-term deal with German/US based label Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM), which has a roster of outstanding internationally acclaimed artists.

Subscribe to Reigning Phoenix Music on YouTube HERE and listen to “Deathlike Silence” as well as other new tracks in the RPM New Releases playlist on Spotify HERE.

Mark Kelson – vocals, guitars
Richie Poate – guitars
Niclas Etelävuori – bass
Jan Rechberger – drums, percussion