The DRX: Entire Nefarious Industries-Bound Throughout Within Album By NYC Avant-Rock Group Streaming At Heavy Blog Is Heavy

the-drx-press-web-photo-by-michelle-johnsen[photo by Michelle Johnsen]

New York City-based avant-rock collective The DRX — led by composer and multi-instrumentalist Dan Romans, and featuring members of Kayo Dot, Psalm Zero, The Riot Oak, Jerseyband, and others – will release the group’s epic new concept album, Throughout Within, through Nefarious Industries at the end of the month. Advancing its release, Heavy Blog Is Heavy now streams the entire album early.

BrooklynVegan offers of Throughout Within, “The DRX mixes harsh, metal-influenced vocals with proggy compositions and an array of hard left turns on the politically-charged song. We get electronics, thundering hardcore, noisy post-punk, horns, choral arrangements, a huge range of sounds.” Treble notes of the band, “The DRX is the project of Dan Romans, and the album features contributions from members of Kayo Dot, Psalm Zero, and other bands. It’s a revolving cast of musicians with Romans at the center of it, creating a stylistically diverse and complex set of art rock that leans toward metal while taking cues from prog. It’s ambitious, heroic stuff.”

Heavy Blog Is Heavy now streams the entire album over a week preceding its release, offering, “Romans is a fascinating musician, wailing and growling across Throughout Within‘s nine sprawling tracks that contribute to the overall atmosphere of esoteric whimsy and incongruous tone: somber timbers clash against uplifting major key swells in heartfelt choruses; trumpets blare out through sludgy dirges; playful keys bounce around in morose wonder. Throughout Within is an oddity for sure, but it has the emotional depth and substance back it up.”

Explore the expansive Throughout Within from The DRX only through Heavy Blog Is Heavy at THIS LOCATION.

Nefarious Industries will release The DRX‘s Throughout Within digitally on December 30th; preorder bundles including custom packaged and hand-numbered CDs of the first two DRX releases, Thesis and The Deepening Hole – both in extremely limited quantities – plus a hand-numbered poster of each album’s cover art, including Throughout Within, are available HERE.

The DRX has birthed its cathartic magnum opus with Throughout Within. Recorded by Jon Grabowski, recorded and mixed by Tyler Hartman, and mastered by Carl Saff (Grails, Young Widows), the core instrumentation of Throughout Within includes voice, tenor saxophone, keyboard, electric guitar, synth bass, and drums, with additions of clarinet, trumpet, flugelhorn, bass saxophone, violin, cello, electric cello, and choir vocals. Led by multi-instrumentalist Dan Romans, the record features contributions from Ryan Hare (The Riot Oak), Ed Rosenberg III (Jerseyband, Glue Gun Optimism), Tim Byrnes (Hazel-Rah, Kayo Dot, Stern), Sarah Fylak (Beauchene Skulls), Marie Kim (Blank Paper), Dean Capper, Emily Peal (Pale Gloom, Westeryear), Michelle Silver (The Riot Oak), Arone Dyer (Buke & Gase), Chuck Stern (Stern), and Ron Varod (Kayo Dot, Psalm Zero), with cover art by Nico Mazza.