The DRX: Avant-Rock Group Debuts “The End Of Avoiding Consequence” At Treble As Throughout Within Nears Nefarious Industries Release

the-drx-09-img_8851-web-photo-by-michelle-johnsen[photo by Michelle Johnsen]

New York City-based avant-rock collective The DRX — led by composer and multi-instrumentalist Dan Romans, and featuring members of Kayo Dot, Psalm Zero, The Riot Oak, Jerseyband, and others — prepares for the release of their expansive new concept album, Throughout Within, through Nefarious Industries at the end of the month.

Preceding the release of Throughout Within, The DRX has delivered the record’s fourth cut, “The End Of Avoiding Consequence,” through an exclusive premiere at Treble, with the respected outlet noting, “The DRX is the project of Dan Romans, and the album features contributions from members of Kayo Dot, Psalm Zero, and other bands. It’s a revolving cast of musicians with Romans at the center of it, creating a stylistically diverse and complex set of art rock that leans toward metal while taking cues from prog. It’s ambitious, heroic stuff.”

Offers creator Dan Romans, “‘The End Of Avoiding Consequence’ is a call to action and a plea for unity. Care for each other and our environment is paramount. Let us abolish hate, discrimination, abuse, and oppression. Let us unite!”

Hear “The End Of Avoiding Consequence” by The DRX only at Treble RIGHT HERE.

Also, hear the album’s “Ancient Lie” at BrooklynVegan HERE.

Nefarious Industries will release The DRX‘s Throughout Within digitally on December 30th; preorder bundles including custom packaged and hand-numbered CDs of the first two releases, Thesis and The Deepening Hole – both in extremely limited quantities – plus a hand-numbered poster of each album’s cover art, including Throughout Within, are available HERE.

The DRX has birthed its cathartic magnum opus with Throughout Within. Recorded by Jon Grabowski, recorded and mixed by Tyler Hartman, and mastered by Carl Saff (Grails, Young Widows), the core instrumentation of Throughout Within includes voice, tenor saxophone, keyboard, electric guitar, synth bass, and drums, with additions of clarinet, trumpet, flugelhorn, bass saxophone, violin, cello, electric cello, and choir vocals. Led by multi-instrumentalist Dan Romans, the record features contributions from Ryan Hare (The Riot Oak), Ed Rosenberg III (Jerseyband, Glue Gun Optimism), Tim Byrnes (Hazel-Rah, Kayo Dot, Stern), Sarah Fylak (Beauchene Skulls), Marie Kim (Blank Paper), Dean Capper, Emily Peal (Pale Gloom, Westeryear), Michelle Silver (The Riot Oak), Arone Dyer (Buke & Gase), Chuck Stern (Stern), and Ron Varod (Kayo Dot, Psalm Zero), with cover art by Nico Mazza.