THE ANTIKAROSHI: New Noise Magazine Premieres “Shiny White Teeth” By German Experimental Indie/Post-Hardcore Trio; Sixth LP, L’inertie Polaire, Nears May 31st Release Via Exile On Mainstream Records

“Shiny White Teeth” is the first single from Potsdam, Germany-based trio THE ANTIKAROSHI and their impending sixth album, L’inertie Polaire. The song is now playing exclusively at New Noise Magazine ahead of the LP’s release in late May through Exile On Mainstream Records.

THE ANTIKAROSHI was established in this same self-motivated manner free of external influence, uniting Christoph Hennig (vocals, guitar, electronics), Dirk Hoffman (vocals, bass, electronics), and Andre Pautz (drums). The trio is the antithesis to convention. You cannot constrain or pigeonhole what is happening here. On the other hand, they are part of and are inseparable from the environment that has created and influenced their music. Subgenre categorization is left for others to define. What happens in their music is an organic amalgamation – they furrow, trench, delve, and breathe through whatever calls to express their music. Classifications such as jazz, electronica, noise rock, post rock, post-hardcore, post-punk are all too constraining.

The roots of THE ANTIKAROSHI are heavily influenced mainly by D.C. punk and hardcore, while shooting forth rays into many genres by acting completely independent, both musically and politically. The result is music both surprising and overwhelming.

Three years after their Extract.Transform.Debase LP, THE ANTIKAROSHI is releasing album number six, which can be considered as a successor in terms of content. The trio continues exactly where they left off on L’inertie Polaire; songs that take their time to breathe, only to start up again frantically the next moment and indulge in the noise. Their volume is always a means to an end, but overall, it’s about dragging you into the moment. While the drums and bass prove to be the foundation and yet try to break through the all too familiar, the guitar is often hypnotic and imaginatively searching, while vocals consciously wander between spoken word-esque snapshots and contained phrases.

L’inertie Polaire was recorded and mixed between November 2023 and February 2024 by Nikolaus Schwab at Chaosaudio Potsdam, mastered and cut by Stefan Betke at Scape Mastering Berlin, and completed with artwork by Matt Irwin (A Whisper In The Noise), and the song “Major Light” features guest appearances by Marco Henschke (guitar) and Judith Kuehne (spoken words).

With the “Shiny White Teeth” single, Christoph Hennig writes, “Actually, this song is one of the faster/pissed-off tunes on the record. In its 2+ minutes, it pretty much takes a few things into question experienced by every one of us these days. Enjoy!”

Stream THE ANTIKAROSHI’s “Shiny White Teeth” first at New Noise Magazine now at THIS LOCATION.

L’inertie Polaire will be released May 31st on Black Vinyl LP with a bundled CD included via Exile On Mainstream, and digitally via THE ANTIKAROSHI, including a Dolby Atmos version of the album. Find physical preorders HERE and digital preorders HERE.

Watch for additional singles and videos from L’inertie Polaire to drop over the weeks ahead.

THE ANTIKAROSHI is booking live performances in support of L’inertie Polaire, including a set at Exile On Mainstream 25 Festival, the 25th anniversary of the diverse label who has released every album from the band. They play the second installment of the four-day/two-city bill Leipzig alongside Ostinato, A Whisper In The Noise, End Of Level Boss, Bulbul, Conny Ochs, Darsombra, Treedeon, Gavial, Gaffa Ghandi, and Crowskin, where the new album will be available early.

5/10-11/2024 Exile On Mainstream 25 @ UT Connewitz – Leipzig, DE [tickets]