SVNTH: Italian Post-Black Metal Unit To Release Spring In Blue Full-Length This August Via Transcending Records; New Video Now Playing

Italian post-black metal unit SVNTH will release their third full-length, Spring In Blue, via Transcending Records this August.

Captured by Colin Marston at Menegroth, the Thousand Caves (Dysrhythmia, Behold… The Arctopus, Cleric) in Queens, New York, SVNTH‘s Spring In Blue delivers six tracks that far transcend the band’s previous efforts. Fusing atmospheric black metal eruptions with the more solid structured roots of ’70s class rock and ’90s shoegaze, Spring In Blue is a soundtrack to one’s deepest emotions. An analysis of human existence, the record explores themes of childhood loss and weathering situations far bigger than ourselves. Elaborates bassist/vocalist Rodolfo Ciuffo, “Spring In Blue has been recorded live in studio and even in terms of sound, it shows a more organic and solid production, mixing ecstatic heavy and fast sections with tragic and melancholic slow moments. It is the perfect musical accompaniment for a concept that explores themes such as death, existential philosophy, and modern technology’s consequences on man.”

In advance of the record’s release, SVNTH issued a video for the track “Wings Of The Ark,” earlier this year. Notes Ciuffo, “The song in particular explores the themes of childhood loss, the hardness of dealing with life’s obstacles in early ages, and the consequent feeling of abandonment. It sees the wonderful participation of Marco Soellner from Klimt 1918 on clean, lead vocals and ethereal backing singing giving the song a very special emotional feeling and a dreamy Cocteau Twins-ish touch. The video has been directed by Francesco Maria Pepe and filmed in New York on September 2019 during the recording sessions”

View SVNTH’s “Wings Of The Ark” video below.

Spring In Blue will be released on CD and digitally via Transcending Records on August 28th with preorders to be unveiled in the coming weeks.

Spring In Blue Track Listing:
1. Who Is The Dreamer?
2. Erasing God’s Towers
3. Parallel Layers
4. Wings Of The Ark
5. Chaos Spiral In Reverse
6. Sons Of Melancholia

Forged in 2006, Rome, Italy’s SVNTH – or Seventh Genocide, a name based on a comparison between the extreme exploitation of human resources in modern capitalism and a genocide toward man and nature — have been shaping a unique equilibrium of sounds through the years, forever moving, forever experimenting. The band released their debut full-length, Breeze Of Memories, in 2015. A heavily blackgaze inspired affair, the record reaped the accolades of fans and critics alike. Toward Akina arrived in 2017, delivering a blend of mystical black metal performed with a ’70s flavor, post-rock textures, Pink Floyd inspired psychedelia, and acoustic overtures. The themes of the record moved towards more spiritual realms probing theories of astral travels and life after death. The band carried on the sound and theme with monumental track “Sleepless,” the centerpiece of their eponymous 2018 EP. Consisting of four reimagined tracks from their back catalog, “Sleepless” served as the only unedited piece. A song centered on living in the moment and making that moment last through eternity, the track displayed the band’s most metal side interspersed with psychedelic passages and Godspeed You! Black Emperor-like instrumental experimentation.

Rodolfo Ciuffo – bass, vocals, acoustic guitar, lyrics
Valerio Primo – drums
Stefano Allegretti – guitar
Jacopo Gianmaria Pepe – guitar