SPIRIT POSSESSION: Portland, Oregon Black Metal Duo Confirms March Release Second LP, Of The Sign…, Through Profound Lore Records; “Second Possession” Streaming + Preorders Posted

photos by B.W.

Almost three years spent sharpening orthodox weapons, SPIRIT POSSESSION reveals their second full-length Of The Sign…, set for a late March release through Profound Lore Records, offering six schizophrenic, spiraling, deranged hymns of black heavy metal from a lost time.

SPIRIT POSSESSION unites S. Peacock (Ulthar, Pandiscordian Necrogenesis, Mastery) on strings and vocals, and A. Spungin (Vouna, Ormus, Taurus) on drums and handmade synthesizers.

While the eponymous debut SPIRIT POSSESSION full-length was a raw and blistering torrent draped in first-wave blood, Of The Sign… seems to be thoroughly drenched in its epic, strange and primitive ways. A violent cacophony of insanity laden cavern vocals, labyrinthian guitar trilling, scalding drum brutality, and analog harsh-noise eruptions; these are sinister yet adventurous black/heavy/death abominations from a forgotten age. Erratic musical madness with improbable entrances, and impossible exits.

Recorded in the depths of the S•P Dungeon and mixed by Colin Marston at Menegroth, The Thousand Caves (Artificial Brain, Krallice, Imperial Triumphant), Of The Sign… is completed with cover art by Luciana Lupe Vasconcelos.

The first foretaste of SPIRIT POSSESSION’s Of The Sign…, “Second Possession,” can now be streamed at YouTube HERE and other points HERE.

Profound Lore will release Of The Sign… on CD, CS, LP, and digital platforms on March 31st. Find preorders for all formats now at THIS LOCATION.

Stand by for additional audio previews and more to post over the weeks ahead.

Of The Sign… Track Listing:
1. Orthodox Weapons
2. Second Possession
3. Of The Sign…
4. Inhale The Hovering Keys
5. The Hex
6. Practitioners Of Power
7. Hierarchical Skin
8. Enter The Golden Sign
9. The Altar