SEVENTH STORM Unveils First Single, “Saudade;” Maledictus To See Release August 12th Via Atomic Fire Records + Preorders Available

Photo by Diogo Branco

Just in time for Portugal’s National Day, SEVENTH STORM, the quintet featuring ex-Moonspell drummer Mike Gaspar, today unveils their first single, “Saudade.” The otherworldly track will drag you right into their raging sea of gothic metal, melancholic rock, and thunderous riffs.

“I wanted a song that spoke to the people with a care and love for our land,” Gaspar says, “our love for our parents. The memory of those we have lost and miss so much. This feeling that some friends or relatives are still here with us on our side guiding and giving us direction. One person I thought of a lot was Peter Steele. He was an amazing human being and a good friend. A gentle giant. I really felt like he was sometimes pushing me to do what I was meant for.” Gaspar pauses and smiles sadly. “He was also a huge fan of Portuguese culture and our wine of course.”

View SEVENTH STORM’s “Saudade” video at THIS LOCATION. Additionally, the band has released a Portuguese version of the track HERE

Maledictus, which was recorded at Dynamix Studios in Lisbon in May and October 2021, with mixing duties handled by icon Tue Madsen, will be released on August 12th via Atomic Fire Records.

The album is available in these configurations:
– 2xLP in gatefold (Clear or Blue/White Marbled vinyl w/ free poster)
– Digipak CD
– Download or stream
– CD-Digi + T-Shirt (Atomic Fire Shop exclusive bundle)
– Blue/White/Black Marbled Vinyl + T-Shirt (Atomic Fire Shop exclusive bundle)
– Clear Vinyl + T-Shirt (Atomic Fire Shop exclusive bundle)
– CD-Digi + Blue/White/Black Marbled Vinyl + T-Shirt + Eye Patch (Atomic Fire Shop exclusive bundle

Preorder your copy today at THIS LOCATION.

With influences ranging from Bathory via Samael, Tiamat, Paradise Lost, Fields Of The Nephilim, Cradle Of Filth, and Dead Can Dance to even Van Halen or Mötley Crüe, SEVENTH STORM is only just embarking on a journey across the wild and wondrous waters of heavy metal history. And while not a concept album, Maledictus – graced by an atmospheric painting from Victor Costa – is tied together by a strong sense of pain and anger, paired with a flickering hope of forgiveness for our lives.

Mike Gaspar – drums
Rez – vocals
Ben Stockwell – lead guitar
Josh Riot – guitar
Butch Cid – bass guitar