SARATTMA: Philadelphia Post-Metal Duo With Current/Ex Brian Jonestown Massacre, John Zorn, Cleric Members To Release Escape Velocity LP Via Nefarious Industries; “Sciatic Haze” Playing + Preorders Posted

photo by Lenore Romas

Nefarious Industries presents Escape Velocity, the debut LP from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania-based experimental instrumental post-metal duo SARATTMA. Confirming the album for July release, the label today issues its cover art, track listing, preorders, and lead single, “Sciatic Haze.”

The follow-up to their 2017-released Inner Spaces EP, SARATTMA creates an entrancing, psychedelic, apocalyptic journey through extraterrestrial landscapes on their debut album Escape Velocity. Drummer Sara Neidorf (Mellowdeath, ex-Brian Jonestown Massacre, Aptera) and guitarist Matt Hollenberg (Cleric, John Frum, John Zorn) weave an intricate fusion of modern improv, punk, jazz, djent, avante-psych-rock, and prog, evoking Frank Zappa, John Zorn, Mahavishnu Orchestra, Dysrhythmia, Don Caballero, and Stinking Lizaveta. Their visually arousing music is a cinematic space punk anthem for those grimy enough to have survived the end of days.

Dedicated to Jill Neidorf (1957-2020), Escape Velocity was recorded in July 2019 at Black Spine Studios in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, mixed and engineered by Matt Hollenberg with additional mixing from Steve Roche, guitar re-amping engineered by Kevin Antreassian at Backroom Studios in Rockaway, New Jersey, and mastered by Colin Marston at The Thousand Caves in Queens, New York. The striking cover artwork was created by Caroline Harrison and the layout handled by Erich Kriebel.

With the album’s lead single, Neidorf reveals, “‘Sciatic Haze’ is the first song we’re releasing from Escape Velocity, which is about transportive experiences. Transport might make you think of escape or the ‘elsewhere’ but sometimes it’s an intensely embodied thing. Our own bodies experience pain, like sciatica, and illness in a way which can overtake the system like an alien invasion, a foreign body which warps our senses. Playing music can allow us to access, articulate, and transform overwhelming experiences of pain which are embodied but not verbally expressible. That’s a lot of what the album is- voicing the extraterrestrial within the embodied.”

SARATTMA’s “Sciatic Haze” is now streaming at THIS LOCATION.

Escape Velocity will see release digitally and on LP in a run of 250 copies on Black vinyl on August 12th. Fine preorder/presave options at the Nefarious Industries shop HERE.

Watch for additional audio previews, videos, and more to be issued over the weeks ahead.

Escape Velocity Track Listing:
1. Escape Velocity
2. Theraphosidae
3. Sublingual Excavation
4. To Touch The Dust
5. Socotra
6. Sciatic Haze
7. Twilight Realm Of Imaginary Notes

Sara Neidorf – drums
Matt Hollenberg – guitars, bass VI, bass