ROMASA: New Orleans Nihilistic Sludge/Crust/Death Trio Featuring Members Of Torture Garden And Witch Burial To Unleash Insufferable Cave Of Rotting Aspiration EP Next Month Via Hand Of Death Records; New Track Streaming + Preorders Available

photo by Ivana Louvar

Louisiana sludge/crust/death trio, ROMASA, featuring within its ranks current and former members of Ossacrux, Torture Garden, and Witch Burial, will release the sordid sounds of their Insufferable Cave of Rotting Aspiration EP next month via Hand Of Death Records.

Hurling forth three tracks of sonic nihilism, Insufferable Cave Of Rotting Aspiration was produced by James Whitten (Thou, The Body, Ossacrux) at High Tower Recording, mastered by Jack Control (Hot Graves, The Wraith, Cavity) at Enormous Door, and comes swathed in the cover renderings of Coffincrux. Offers the band, “ROMASA has teamed up with Hand Of Death Records to deliver a short blast of two scorching, sludged-out, and death-soaked tracks, chained together by one mind-expanding synthesizer soundscape. The tape promises a figurative — or literal — cave dwelling foray into the nihilistic tendencies inherent in humanity and the planned obsolescence of the very world we inhabit.”

In advance of its release, ROMASA is pleased to offer up the title track for public consumption noting, “‘Insufferable Cave Of Rotting Aspiration’ is an exercise in clinging to a main esoteric riff as if it were one’s only light while charging forth into the depths of the insufferable cave that surrounds them, occasionally taking sudden turns further into the abyssal unknown.”

Stream ROMASA’s “Insufferable Cave Of Rotting Aspiration” at THIS LOCATION.

Insufferable Cave Of Rotting Aspiration will be released October 30th on cassette and digital formats via Hand Of Death Records. For preorders go to THIS LOCATION.

Insufferable Cave Of Rotting Aspiration Track Listing:
1. Insufferable Cave Of Rotting Aspiration
2. Loosen Untie Solve
3. Formulaic Decay

ROMASA – drummer Rob Lovell (Ossacrux, Witch Burial, Torture Garden, Minor Fret), bassist Samael White (Witch Burial), and guitarist/vocalist Matthew Moorin (Final Weapon) – took form in New Orleans, Louisiana in 2017. The band sets out to create a caricature of the world of excess, filth, and depravity in which we’re all forced to inhabit. Eschewing tradition while still honoring their varied influences, they’ve concocted a truly vile brand of aggressive music that mixes OSDM, sludge, crust, crossover, and more into a seamless cocktail of audio depravity.

The band released their critically lauded debut, Cheering Death, in 2019. Wrote Decibel Magazine of the release, “ROMASA builds the crust-infected sludge, galloping d-beats, and rotten vocals into glorious crescendos and squalls of distortion and feedback.” Invisible Oranges concurred noting, “Few aliases could be as fitting, as their name refers to the unlikely glitter that can be dissected from the grotesque. Indeed, performing the musical equivalent of street fights offset by carnivalesque wonder and an incoming rainstorm is a bit of an acquired taste, at least on paper. The experience of listening, however, makes for a treat for the senses as you feel yourself getting hypnotically pulled through the crowd in different directions.” Added Collective ‘Zine UK, “The clumpy, mire-dwelling riffs and clogged-pipe vocals are offset by stringier scrabbles and bouts of hollow-eyed ambience, keeping these five tracks interesting, engaging, and enjoyably non-standard every tortured step of the way.”

Following Cheering Death, the band completed several short tours before recording Insufferable Cave Of Rotting Aspiration as a taste of things to come.

Matthew Moorin – guitar, vocals
Rob Lovell – drums
Sam White – bass