REZN: Everything Is Noise Premieres “Reversal” From Chicago Heavy Psych Conjurors As Solace Full-Length Nears Release

“…musical ayahuasca at its finest…” – Everything Is Noise

Everything Is Noise is currently streaming “Reversal,” the latest single from Chicago-based heavy psyche conjurors REZN. The track appears on the band’s monolithic fourth full-length, Solace, set for release on March 8th.

With Solace, REZN continues to obscure the boundaries of their psych and doom labels by exploring more delicate and introspective emotions in the lyrics and instrumentation, using the feeling of empty space to build into towering moments of maximalist density. The appearance of piano, flute, and acoustic guitar are intricately woven throughout the record, and their dynamic range seems expanded even at the heavy end with odd time signatures and thicker, more colossal walls of sound built by the rhythm section.

Comments bassist Phil Cangelosi of the band’s latest single, “‘Reversal’ was one of the first tracks we wrote for this record, and one of my favorites on the album. We wanted to convey a sense of weightless highs and crushing lows to further pull you into the Solace soundscape.”

Adds Everything Is Noise, “‘Reversal’ is more of a ‘conventional’ (the band is anything but) slow burner that allows for REZN to paint their gorgeously haunting soundscapes… It builds and collapses and builds and collapses again just like the nightmare-inducing program on treadmills or similar exercise machines that is nothing but hills and valleys.”

Stream REZN’s “Reversal” at Everything Is Noise at THIS LOCATION.

REZN’s Solace was recorded in July of 2021 at Earth Analog in Tolono, Illinois, engineered, mixed, produced, and reduced by Matt Russell, and mastered by Zach Weeks at God City Studio in Salem, Massachusetts. The record features cover art by renown illustrator Adam Burke/Nightjar Illustration.

Solace will be available on March 8th on CD and digital formats as well as vinyl. The vinyl will be available in “Ice” and “Snow” as well as a third unannounced variant that will be sold exclusively at shows.

Find Solace ordering info at the band’s website HERE or the REZN Bandcamp page HERE where first single, “Possession,” can be streamed.

REZN recently announced their Solace North American Tour this Spring. Set to commence on May 20th and run through July 22nd, the tour will feature special guests Oryx and Grivo on select dates. See all confirmed dates below.

REZN – Solace North American Tour 2023:
5/20/2023 Lincoln Hall – Chicago, IL
5/25/2023 Black Circle – Indianapolis, IN **
5/26/2023 Portal – Louisville, KY **
5/27/2023 Sabbath Brewing – Atlanta, GA **
5/28/2023 The Pour House – Raleigh, NC **
5/29/2023 The Camel – Richmond, VA **
5/30/2023 Pie Shop – Washington, DC **
5/31/2023 Silk City – Philadelphia, PA **
6/01/2023 The Broadway – Brooklyn, NY **
6/02/2023 O’Brien’s – Boston, MA **
6/03/2023 Turbo Haus – Montreal, QC **
6/04/2023 The Garrison – Toronto, ON **
6/05/2023 Bug Jar – Rochester, NY **
6/07/2023 Spacebar – Columbus, OH **
6/08/2023 Sanctuary – Detroit, MI **
6/09/2023 Pyramid Scheme – Grand Rapids, MI **
6/10/2023 Cactus Club – Milwaukee, WI **
7/05/2023 7th St Entry – Minneapolis, MN ^
7/07/2023 Hi-Dive – Denver, CO ** ^
7/08/2023 Aces High Saloon – Salt Lake City, UT ^
7/09/2023 The Shredder – Boise, ID ^
7/11/2023 Substation – Seattle, WA ^
7/12/2023 High Water Mark – Portland, OR ^
7/13/2023 John Henry’s – Eugene, OR ^
7/14/2023 Eli’s Mile High Club – Oakland, CA ^
7/15/2023 Permanent Records Roadhouse – Los Angeles, CA ^
7/16/2023 Yucca Tap Room – Tempe, AZ ^
7/17/2023 Sister Bar – Albuquerque, NM ^
7/19/2023 Mohawk – Austin, TX ^
7/20/2023 Club Dada – Dallas, TX ^
7/21/2023 Gasa Gasa – New Orleans, LA ^
7/22/2023 Drkmttr – Nashville, TN ^
** w/ Oryx
^ Grivo

The seed for REZN’s megaton riffs and psychedelic journeys was planted when guitarist Rob McWilliams and bassist Phil Cangelosi began jamming together at age twelve in the DC commuter town of Leesburg, Virginia. They relocated to Chicago in 2015, recruited local sound engineer Patrick Dunn to play drums, and, after just three shows together, set about recording their debut album — the molten amp worship service, Let It Burn. They invited their friend Spencer Ouellette into the studio to round out their bottom-heavy sound with the hum-and-squall of modular synth, and the added textural component immediately became a key facet to their sound.

The band’s 2018 sophomore album Calm Black Water created an aqueous atmosphere of molasses-thick guitar-and-bass punishments with soaring minor key vocal melodies, but Ouellette further pushed the dreamscape envelope by supplementing the synth duties with blissed out saxophone passages. REZN’s 2020 offering Chaotic Divine continued their melding of gargantuan heaviness and lysergic calm, as well as the band’s penchant for tying the music to a new visual landscape. Here it became apparent that their use of saxophone was more than just a cameo, letting the instrument’s richness shine confidently in the spotlight throughout the record. It’s yet another device in REZN’s sonic arsenal that makes classifying their sound into a genre even more challenging.

Rob McWilliams – guitar, vocals
Phil Cangelosi – bass, rainstick
Patrick Dunn – drums, percussion
Spencer Ouellette – sax, synth, piano, flute
Marie Davidson – spoken word on “Webbed Roots