PIGS: Noisey Premieres Track From Second Album By NYC Noise Trio; Wronger LP To See October Release Via Solar Flare Records

Brooklyn-based power-trio, PIGS — founded by members of Unsane, Paradise Club and much more — will release their second LP, Wronger, through the outfit’s trusted source at France’s Solar Flare Records in early October, and the maiden single from the slab has been unleashed early via Noisey.

Following PIGS‘ criminally slept on You Ruin Everything debut LP in 2012, and subsequent Gaffe EP in 2013, the band’s sophomore album Wronger was written and recorded sporadically over the last year or so, when each member wasn’t focused on feeding their families, detailing race cars or doing sound for like-minded ogres Melvins, Big Business, and Murder City Devils. But the sound of Wronger boasts crazy rhythms that never slip into self-indulgence, and is backed by a groove and bark that are equal parts sinewy Touch & Go and the southern rock bastardizing of Surgery’s first album. PIGS and John Fulk produced the record at bassist Andrew Schneider’s co-owned Translator Audio in Coney Island, after which it was mixed at Loho Studios by Schneider, mastered by Carl Saff at Saff Mastering, and fitted with artwork by guitarist/vocalist Dave Curran and drummer Jim Paradise, the album delivering eleven torrid new anthems including guest vocal contributions from Made Out Of Babies and Battle Of Mice chanteuse Julie Christmas.

Far ahead of its impending October release date, Noisey has premiered the album’s first single with an exclusive premiere of “The Life In Pink,” issuing with it, “The sound of Wronger is that of an effortless dropping of previously mentioned bottle from a great height. The bottle shimmers and twists before it meets concrete. But, yeah, the concrete is going to happen.”

Unload PIGS’ pummeling “The Life In Pink” now at Noisey US at THIS LOCATION and Noisey France HERE.

Solar Flare Records, also to blame for the band’s prior two releases, will issue Wronger on October 2nd. Preorders are already available for multiple formats and bundles — the Wronger CD, 12″ LP, and digital packages are available HERE, a CD bundle for Wronger and You Ruin Everything HERE, and a vinyl bundle for the Wronger 12″ and Gaffe 10″ HERE.

Expect a massive European Fall tour in support of Wronger and much more on PIGS to be announced in the coming weeks.

When Unsane bassist Dave Curran started writing songs on guitar with drummer Jim Paradise (Player’s Club, Freshkills, Hellno) the name they tossed out for their fledgling project was simple: PIGS. Issued the band, “We figured it was short enough that press and promoters couldn’t fuck it up.” Producer Andrew Schneider of Translator Audio (Cave In, Converge, Made Out of Babies, Unsane, Keelhaul) was invited to fill-in on bass for a couple of shows and, much to their delight, has refused to leave. The sound? PIGS sounds like the last forty-five minutes of that interminable haul from Portland to San Francisco when both patience and air conditioning are long gone… like a petty, early-morning drunken argument in a gravel parking lot about the stupid, impossible math of how to divide forty-one dollars three ways… like when the left rear bearing on the van that’s been squealing and then grinding for days finally gets hot enough to weld itself into the axle and the ancient Detroit Deathtrap grates to a final, shuddering halt. PIGS sounds like three guys who have played countless shows in many bands for a couple of decades in several dozen countries and still can’t leave it alone; a scathing, groove-heavy, noise metal thunder with more hooks than a meat packing plant.

Wronger Track Listing:
1. A Great Blight
2. The Life In Pink
3. Bet It All On Black
4. Amateur Hour In Dick City
5. Mope
6. Wrap It Up
7. Mouth Dump
8. Make Sure To Forget
9. Bug Boy [featuring vocals by Julie Christmas]
10. Wronger
11. Donnybrook

Dave Curran – guitar/vocals
Andrew Schneider – bass/vocals
Jim Paradise – drums