PALMAR DE TROYA: Granada, Spain-Based Noise Rock/Post-Hardcore Quintet To Release Second EP, II, On Reptilian Records July 5th; “Cold Snakes” Single Streaming + Preorders Posted

photos by Iuliana Dragoi Fotografía

Long-running noise rock aficionados Reptilian Records welcomes Granada, Spain-based quintet PALMAR DE TROYA to the label’s roster, and is prepared to release their second EP, II, on July 5th, this week unveiling the record’s cover art, track listing, preorders, and “Cold Snakes” single.

PALMAR DE TROYA formed in 2019 when a group of friends from various bands came together with the goal of producing a more personal and experimental sound; a return to their musical roots, heavily influenced by ‘90s post-hardcore, punk, and noise rock. Unifying vocalist/keyboard player Lucia (Llulaby), bassist Will, drummer Jose (Apartmentos Acapulco, Verona), and guitarists Salinas (Maine, Alondra Galopa) and Toto (Gentemayor, Hand Of Fatima, Music Komite), the band draws their name from a small city in the south of Spain where a religious sect called “Palmarianos” was formed in the 1970s. They separated from Catholicism, saying it was too soft. They have their own pope and mysterious monastery, and only the tight-lipped members really know what’s going on inside of this very dark place.

In 2019, PALMAR DE TROYA recorded a six-song EP which was released digitally in February of 2020, receiving favorable reviews from European press, webzines, radio stations, and podcasts. They were rapidly gaining fans and positive attention when the governments of the world shut everything down, crushing the plan to release the EP on vinyl and splintering the band.

Following several concerts during 2022 and 2023 in various cities such as Granada, Málaga, and Madrid, the band recorded their impending second EP, II, with Rafa Camisón in Estudio 79, where drums and bass were recorded, with JA Salinas oversaw recording the rest of the instrumentation at Borderline Music in Granada. II was mixed and mastered by Rafa Camisón in Estudio 79, the front cover image is the work of Álvaro Fernández, and the EP’s layout/design was handled by Reptilian art master Jeremy Zombie.

Vocalist Lucía writes of the “Cold Snakes” single, “This song is about condescension and false modesty, and how it appears in our daily lives. In short, it speaks of the camouflaged ego of some people.”

Reptilian Records will release PALMAR DE TROYA’s II on 10″ Day-Glo Yellow Vinyl and all digital services on July 5th. Find preorders and stream “Cold Snakes” single now at the label webshop HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

II Track Listing:
1. Bracit
2. Trauman
3. Cold Snakes
4. Cabra
5. B/B

An official video for one of the EP’s songs and more will be issued over the days ahead. The band is also plotting live performances for the months ahead.

6/29/2024 CSA Las Vegas – Málaga, ES w/ Shonen Bat, Ulises Lima

Lucia – vocals, keyboards
Will – bass
Jose – drums
Salinas – guitar
Toto – guitar