OVO Album Details Announced; Track Available For Streaming

Supernatural Cat Records have signed avant/extreme duo OvO for their upcoming sixth album Cor Cordium, which will be released on April 18th, 2011. To give the public their first taste of the release, UK-based Rock-A-Rolla Magazine is hosting an exclusive stream of “Marie,” the third track from Cor Cordium. Check it out here.

The diverse, avant/conceptual ten-track opus Cor Cordium — the title translating to “heart of the hearts” — is an epitaph to the memory of idolized English Romantic poet and adventurer Percy Shelley. OvO hail from a realm of contaminated heavy rock, where noise elements act as breaks between the sonic deconstructive assaults as displayed on Cor Cordium. The hi-fi recordings captured on the album, for the first time in OvO’s history utilizing any sort of overdubs, present a rational structure hidden under the apparent madness of the compositions.

Cor Cordium is set for release via Supernatural Cat Records — the label who’ve delivered releases from Lento, Morkobot, Incoming Cerebral Overdrive, and most notably, doom trio Ufomammut — and who also co-handle the duties at Malleus Art Rock Lab. In addition to the standard digipak version and digital download, there will also be a highly limited edition which will include both CD and LP versions as well as a DVD featuring a live concert of the band previous their previous album Crocevia. View photos of the craftsmen at Malleus constructing the limited edition Cor Cordium LPs at this location.

With previous releases being handled by labels such as Bar La Muerte, Blossoming Noise and Load Records, and the duo having played somewhere in the vicinity of 600 shows since their inception at the turn of the century, OvO’s travels have taken them from Europe to Mexico, from America to Israel, and beyond. OvO have collaborated, recorded and/or played live with countless notable acts including Nadja, KK Null, Thurston Moore, Jim O’Rourke, Rollerball, Thrones, SubArachnoid Space, Zenigeva, Lightning Bolt, Sleepytime Gorilla Museum, Estradasphere, Steve Mc Kay, Trencher, Ludicra, Bill Horist, USA Is A Monster, White Mice, Cock ESP, Bastard Noise, Zu, Larsen, Kill Me Tomorrow, Murder Junkies, Jarboe, A Hawk And A Hacksaw and more.