OMEN ASTRA: Progressive Post-Metal Trio Unleashes “The City That Burns” Single; The End Of Everything To See Release May 19th + Preorders Available

Photo by Dave Buschemeyer

Canadian progressive post-metal trio OMEN ASTRA will unleash their towering debut full-length, The End Of Everything, on May 19th via Hypaethral Records (Canada), Protagonist Music (US), and Moment Of Collapse (Europe), today unveiling the record’s second single, “The City That Burns,” and preorders.

Featuring members of The Black Maria (Victory Records), Spread The Disease, New Day Rising, and The Abandoned Hearts Club (Hydra Head Records), OMEN ASTRA transports its listeners into the darkest depths of human existence through larger-than-life lyrical storytelling and an expansive heaviness influenced by the likes of Neurosis, Gojira, and David Bowie. Drawing from post-metal, sludge, anthemic hardcore, and incorporating a hint of the melodic sensibilities of Britpop, the trio creates music that is at once crushingly powerful and stick-in-your-head catchy. Aesthetically, they rely on a powerful simplicity that includes modern mandalas to convey large concepts, vastness, expansiveness, and universality.

Comments vocalist Christopher Gray on the band’s latest single, “‘The City That Burns’ is a song about powerless frustration, exhaustion and desperation – starting a new narrative around what it means to be free.”

Stream OMEN ASTRA’s “The City That Burns” at THIS LOCATION.

Stream the band’s first single, “False Gods,” via YouTube HERE or Bandcamp HERE.

The End Of Everything was engineered and mixed by the band’s own Dave Buschemeyer at Bravo Studios and mastered by Greg Dawson at BWC Studios (Mare, The End, Olde, Moneen). The record will be available digitally and limited-edition LP in two color variants: 100 Red in Clear Vinyl and 200 Half Black/Half Clear Vinyl.

Find all preorders at THIS LOCATION.

Fans of Cult Of Luna, Gojira, Neurosis, Sumac, Mare, The Ocean, Intronaut, Mouth Of The Architect, and the like, pay heed.

Formed in Hamilton, Ontario in the fall of 2021, OMEN ASTRA set out to create a dark and impactful metal experience, suffocating listeners in a vast sonic space before drawing them back to reality with powerful melodic sensibilities. After much trial and error, writing and rewriting, and painstaking attention to detail, multi-instrumentalist Dave Buschemeyer, vocalist Christopher Gray, and guitarist Trevor Dykstra recorded their debut LP The End Of Everything. The result is an album that is meticulous, cohesive, and evolved.

The End Of Everything Track Listing:

  1. Breathe Into The Wave
  2. False Gods
  3. Who’s Been Painting My Roses Red
  4. The City That Burns
  5. Glory To The Crown
  6. This Is The End Of Everything

“The End Of Everything is absolute fire! It’s everything I expected and so much more. Having heard a few tracks in its infancy, it has been a pleasure to listen to how this album has developed and grown into a beast of a release. Filthy riffs coupled with diverse vocals and a ton of atmosphere, this is gonna turn a shitload of heads. Very refreshing and very heavy.”  — Mike DiSalvo (Cryptopsy, Akurion, Coma Cluster Void, Infestation)