OBLIVION PROTOCOL Launches Lyric Video For “The Fall (Part 1);” Debut Album, The Fall Of The Shires, Nears Release On Atomic Fire Records

OBLIVION PROTOCOL – the prog rock/metal supergroup led by Threshold keyboard player and songwriter Richard West – will release their anticipated debut album The Fall Of The Shires on August 18th through Atomic Fire Records. In advance of the record’s release, the band today unveils their latest single and an accompanying lyric video for “The Fall (Part 1).”

West comments, “This was the first song I wrote for The Fall Of The Shires and was originally intended for Threshold. You’ll notice that it has a strong melodic connection to the opening song from Legends Of The Shires and also features a beautiful guest solo by Threshold’s Karl Groom.”

Watch OBLIVION PROTOCOL’s “The Fall (Part 1)” lyric video, created by Ingo Spörl at Hard Media, HERE. Stream/purchase the track HERE.

Watch the band’s previously released lyric video for “Forests In The Fallout” at THIS LOCATION and their “This Is Not A Test” video at THIS LOCATION.

The Fall Of The Shires will be available in CD-digipak, LP (Green), and digital formats.

Preorder The Fall Of The Shires in the physical format of your choice, presave it on your preferred DSP or preorder it digitally to receive “The Fall (Part 1),” “This Is Not A Test” and “Forests In The Fallout” instantly at THIS LOCATION.

Written as a sequel to Threshold’s 2017 concept album Legends Of The Shires, The Fall Of The Shires delivers a dense, climactic sound somewhere between Rush, Steven Wilson, The Dark Side Of The Moon-era Pink Floyd and hard rock masters Ghost, all the while providing the listener with clever little nods, bows and references to the first installment.

The The Fall Of The Shires cover, which was designed by celebrated artist Thomas Ewerhard who was responsible for so many of Threshold’s classic covers such as Hypothetical and Subsurface, depicts the downfall of the world shown on Legends Of The Shires.

OBLIVION PROTOCOL‘s lineup is completed with three renowned musicians: guitarist Ruud Jolie (Within Temptation), bassist Simon Andersson (Darkwater), and drummer Darby Todd (Devin Townsend). Additionally, Threshold’s Karl Groom has contributed some truly enthralling guitar solos to the record.

Subscribe to Atomic Fire Records on YouTube HERE. Listen to “The Fall (Part 1) as well as other new tracks in the AFR New Releases playlist on Spotify HERE.

Richard West – vocals, keyboards
Ruud Jolie – guitars
Simon Andersson – bass
Darby Todd – drums